Dystopian · Science Fiction · Suspense

BOOK REVIEW: Melophobia by James Morris

ISBN: 9781517109653

Title: Melophobia

Author: James Morris

Publisher: Kindle Press

Publication Date: September 22, 2015

Format: E-book

Number of Pages: 265

yg - Copy

Melophobia: fear or hatred of music.

 

The time – now; the place – America, but in a world where the government controls all forms of art and creativity. Any music sowing the seeds of anarchy is banned – destroyed if found – its creators and listeners harshly punished.

 

Merin Pierce works as an undercover Patrol officer assigned to apprehend a fugitive musician who threatens the safe fabric of society, only to confront everything she thought to be true – her values, upbringing, job, and future.

Can love survive in a world without music?

Publisher’s Weekly called it “a convincing alternative history novel and…an accomplished coming-of-age love story that asks big questions about freedom and expressiveness in the face of oppression.”

hv

Can you imagine…

A world with no music allowed?

A world where music is banned and illegal?

A world where listening to music is a crime?

 

There is just nothing to say the way Mr. James Morris written the book. It’s excellent, very-well written, gripping, and one of the most moving novels I’d ever read.

 

Confusion, betrayal, and doubt all in the name of being a Patrol officer, the daughter of the Minister Tarquin Pierce, and a woman who was abandoned when she was just a child by her mother who chose to live a life with music instead of her and her father.

 

The story is told on third person’s point of view. It is a suspense young adult fiction set on an old America.

 

First of all, I am a fantasy lover and I am NOT really fond of reading suspense novels. I had never read any book with this genre and I am NOT interested. But seeing the title Melophobia made me want to read this book immediately and I am beyond happy to have the opportunity.

 

Melophobia is an unforgettable story of love, duty, family, patriotism, and music.

 

Merrin Pierce and Anders Copeland is living in a society where music is strictly prohibited. Merrin Pierce is an undercover Patrol officer, the daughter of the Minister of Broadcast Standards, and a server of law. Together with Anders Copeland, their job is to find and arrest illegal rave and concert goers, and anyone who will be seen listening, distributing and making music. After doing so many successful missions together, their Chief Commander gave them the most important and hardest mission they could possibly have; to find and arrest The Source.

 

At first, I really don’t know how this book will work for me. Even though the reason is already given, I still can’t understand why they are scared of music. What is the point of seeing music as a threat to the peace of their society? What is the sense of banning music?

 

Unlike any other books where I can always feel myself as the main character, I can see myself as one of those teenagers – even adults are not excepted – whose Anders and Merrin is putting into jail. Aside from reading books, I also sometimes go to rave. And I really love music so living in their society I think, will put me into jail or worse, put my life into death.

 

What I love the most in this book is the journey of Merrin towards self-discovery. The struggle between doing what you’re mind is telling right and doing what you’re heart really wants. I love the way she is always trying to do what is right and what she is supposed to do as an undercover Patrol officer but eventually finding herself doing the opposite. I love the way she’s trying to continue what she really is but can’t help and stop being terrified of what she had slowly become. Just imagine being the daughter of a man who hates music and a woman who loves music. I love her journey of seeking freedom, independence and her true self.

 

“What’s wrong?” Val tries to soothe her, wiping away her tears as she would a child.

 

“It’s nothing,” Merrin lied, the alcohol compounding matters, her thoughts lingering on betraying her father. “Just the music. Gets to me.”

 

“I know,” Val said. “Sometimes it’s so beautiful it hurts.”

 

Weeks passed since I’ve read this book and I still can remember the overwhelming feelings it gave me. It cuts deep into my heart right at those precious moments. James Morris will show you what is the real meaning of music. And he will also show you the different kinds of love.

 

Music is not just music. It is life. Music is not just composed of notes, tones and lyrics. It is also composed of dreams, passion, and love.

 

The love triangle, the love of a father to his only daughter, the love of a leader to his society, the love of a patrol officer to his duty, the love of an abandoned daughter for her lost mother, the undying love of someone from the past, and the forbidden love of two individuals. This book will make you cry and make your heart break  as much as it will also make you laugh and smile.

 

The forbidden love in this book is ONE OF THE MOST UNFORGETTABLE LOVE STORY I HAD EVER READ. It will leave you speechless. I find it very hard to believe how this book can tell such a love story. No words can describe how much I really felt towards this book.

 

And I love how James Morris turned things around. The roller coaster ride of emotions was just insane! Do you know how hard it is for a reader to read something that he/she doesn’t want to happen? To silently torture yourself for continuing reading it even though you already know where will these end? And to silently hope for the very impossible to happen? I really hate the fact that this book made me cry very hard. I hate the fact that I can’t do something about it. That as a reader, I just need to accept things and move on, but I love the idea of James Morris writing such a thing. Carry on Melody, set the fuse.

 

I was impressed by the idea, the plot, the relatable and convincing characters, and the beginning and ending of this book. After reading this, I was in awe to realize that a book like this still exists. This book is worth treasuring. It is one of the best book I had ever read. I will never get tired of re-reading it until I get old.

 

I highly recommend Melophobia. It deserves more than a 5 out of 5 stars rating.

 

 

 

Can love survive in a world without music?
hkk

5 of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

khi

14005518

James Morris is a former television writer who now works in digital media. When not writing, you can find him scoping out the latest sushi spot, watching ‘House Hunters Renovation’, or trying new recipes in the kitchen. He lives with his wife and dog in Los Angeles.

 

Find him on:

www.jamesmorriswriter.com | Twitter | Goodreads

 

 

 

Purchase Link/s:

Amazon

 

 

Thank you!

-Karina 😊

Leave a Reply

