BOOK REVIEW: The Natural Order by R.J. Vickers

ISBN: 1511770481

Title: The Natural Order

Series: The Natural Order #1

Author: R.J. Vickers

Publisher: R.J. Vickers

Publication Date: June 01, 2015

Format: ebook

Number of Pages: 321

 

“Tristan Fairholm is one of 15 juvenile delinquents selected to learn magic…for a purpose that is kept secret from them. When they at last learn that the magic they have harvested causes death and ruin in a bid to keep the world from collapse, they must make a choice: do they fight it? Or do they use it?”

 

 

 

My thoughts:

 

“Magic can easily be used both for creation and for ruin.”

Different persons – delinquents, and an orphan – from different places were gathered to bring in a strange, magical, and mysterious place to learn and do magic. No one knows why they are being trained to do magic. All they knew was at least, they are not in detention or jail anymore.

Tristan Fairholm, is a criminal who wants nothing but to have his brother back. Tristan thinks he doesn’t have anything to live for. His brother is dead, he doesn’t want to be stucked in this school which is such a huge mystery and he doesn’t know if his mother still hates him. So what else is there to live for?

This book gave so much Harry Potter feels. They study magic, their school is like Hogwarts – far from people, fascinating – but less grandeur and it’s underground. The main character has a scar on his face, only that it’s not from he-who-must-not-be-named, but instead, it’s from an accident.

I love books that talks about magic but as the story goes on where all they did was to study magic, I got bored. I started to wonder where will this book go? What is the twist? What else could this book offer aside from teaching us magic? WHAT ELSE?

As the story goes on, the answer to my “WHAT ELSE?” had been answered. The story will not just revolve on studying magic. It will also revolve on finding the answers to so many questions, like…

“Why are they just few? Why only 15 students in this overly huge underground school?”
“Why is their school – the Lair – is on underground?”
“What is the secret of the Lair that their professors had been trying to hide?”
“Who is trying to destroy this place? Who is the vandal?“
“When will they leave this school? or will they ever leave this school?”
“What are they being trained for?”

The journey of the characters especially Tristan on finding answers to these questions is the thing that kept me reading this book. I had a reading slump while reading this book, that’s why it took me 3 weeks to finish it. If it wasn’t for these questions, I don’t know if I can even finish it.
This book doesn’t really have a romantic side. Although I can really feel something fishy about the girls that surrounds Tristan especially his best friend Leila, there is nothing really romantic that happened. Through the end, I was in high hopes that romance will bloom in this book, but nah. The book one of this series is just focused on magic, mystery, and friendship! It’s just a little bit disappointing that the book had been finished without even giving me assurance if my guesses are wrong or not. But I have this feeling that soon, in the next book/s in this series, love will grow.

The writing is very good, the emotions are really there. I was scared, amazed, confused and nervous, all while reading this book. I love the plot and characters even though they are mostly like imitation of some characters from different books. Like Tristan, Leila, and Rusty. The main character Tristan is scarred in the face. He doesn’t have “home”. Leila’s character reminds me of Tris in Divergent. She’s fierce, smart, and brave. While Rusty slightly reminds me of Ron. If Tristan and Leila is most of the time serious, of course Rusty is the opposite.

 

“They want wealth. Long Life. Health. Power. They’re messing with the natural order because they’re selfish. The human race is selfish.”

 

The ending, I really held my breathe when the questions had been answered, the truth had been revealed, and when the meaning of the title already made sense. Gosh! I really like how things had turned out. I never really thought that this book will be interesting. Frankly, I have no idea what is this book all about. I usually do not read the synopsis or blurb of a book before reading it. And based on the title, the cover, I really have no idea what to expect. I just decided I want to read this because it’s fantasy, and that’s it.

 

I enjoyed this book, it is interesting but it’s still not enough to get me out of a reading slump. It’s not bad but it’s not that great either. Maybe because I love magic, and I’ve read Harry Potter and Divergent before that’s why I really liked and enjoyed it. It’s like characters from my favorite series had been gathered into a book. Just imagine criminals from different places, who knows nothing about each other being gathered together. Of course the fact that they are criminals will tell what they can do, and that’s the reason why this book gives Divergent feels too. It feels like they are all Dauntless.

 

“Do you think we’ll forget all of this next year?” he asked quietly.

Amber frowned at him. “When we leave, I mean. Will we even remember that magic was real?”

 

I’m giving this book a 3.75 stars. It’s interesting, enjoyable, and full of magic. If you love magic and you miss reading Harry Potter, and wants to feel it again with different characters that will remind you of characters from Divergent, you might want to try this.

 

 

 

Rating:

3.75 of 5 stars ⭐⭐⭐3/4

 

 

 

About the author:

13986777

R.J. Vickers is the author of The Natural Order, a YA fantasy series; Beauty’s Songbook, a fairy tale with hints of “Beauty and the Beast” and “Into the Woods”; and College Can Wait, a gap-year guidebook for reluctant students.

She swears by NaNoWriMo, and has written seven short novels during the typing frenzy that is November.

R.J. Vickers grew up in beautiful Boulder, Colorado, earned a BA in Writing and Publishing at Emerson College, and was shortly thereafter whisked off to New Zealand by her Kiwi partner.

She now lives in Wanaka with her husband, Daniel, where she works as a travel agent. When she’s not writing, she loves hiking and adventuring throughout New Zealand

 

 

Find her on:

http://rjvickers.com

Goodreads

 

 

 

 

Thank you!

-Karina 😊

Leave a Reply

