Fantasy · Uncategorized · Young Adult

BOOK REVIEW: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

ISBN: 1408857863 Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses # 1 Author: Sarah J. Maas Publisher: Bloomsbury Children Publication Date: May 5, 2015 Format: Paperback Number of pages: 416

yg - Copy

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world. 

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

hv

Before anything else, I want to say thank you to my lovely and pretty friend Imo of Amidst the Pages for making me read this book! If it wasn’t for her, ACOTAR is still probably collecting dusts on my shelf. Thank you Imo!

 

“I love you,’ he whispered, and kissed my brow. ‘Thorns and all.”

6c19be101c91842c69d03de050e7a702

Before I start my review, I just want to share some of the notes/reactions/comments I have written down while reading this (haha 😛 it’s a bit embarrassing though, I just really want to share):

I like Tamlin

I trust Tamlin

Interesting, but still a little bit boring at page 118

I like Feyre, reminds me of Mare Barrow from the Stilts.

I really like Tamlin, I really do.

Feyre, are you stupid?

I wonder what the other High Lords are like

Gosh, Lucien… I feel so sorry

Oh gosh, I wish Tamlin will bite me too.

Oh god Rhysand, f**k you.

WHOOOO! *fans myself* HOT AF.

Oh god I want to cry. Love love love, there’s so much love. I’m drowning. It’s over whelming.

Nesta! ❤

Feyre, isn’t it too late?

Ughhh Rhysand. You’re hot af but you’re annoying me.

Why are you doing this, Rhysand?

TAMLIN & FEYRE MOMENT ATLAST!!!!!

I swooned, I laugh, I got annoyed, I got sad in just TWO PAGES. TWO PAGES. (p. 378-379)

(I stopped because I was too busy reading and taking things in that I forgot or didn’t mind writing my reactions anymore. I was too busy calming myself. :P)

 

The reactions and emotions I felt in gifs (because I cannot put them into words):

 

Feyre:

At the beginning:

images2farticle2f20162f052f272fbadass

On danger:

stupid

(BUT STILL..)

tumblr_m94a7fk34i1qc3qsmo2_500

 

Tamlin:

FROM THE START TO END:

giphy

tumblr_o0uxnsd8i31tb9suao1_500

tumblr_nknf1hhdfc1r0olfdo1_500

 

Rhysand:

at the Fire Night:

tumblr_m2p3vkvx0v1rnggk01

finally introduced:

god-i-hate-you

at the end:

8249147

 

Amarantha:

from the beginning to the end:

 

tumblr_mgsrlnthlg1riqek1o1_500

 

Feyre and Tamlin’s lovemaking and hot scenes:

ezgif-1943556943

 

Ending:

tumblr_md4mstfuw71qdem31

giphy1

 

Things I don’t like about A Court of Thorns and Roses?

 

The real game just started after the first half (or more) of the book. If there is no Tamlin, Lucien, Feyre and the fascinating world-building on the first half, it will probably be disappointing, so disappointing.

 

I expected more. Though I love the story, it’s still wasn’t the A Court of Thorns and Roses I was expecting. Like what I have said, the real game just begun after or more than the half of the book. There are plenty of pages that could’ve been more useful.

 

Ugh, LOVE (????) – What I honestly expected is for this book to be bad ass – the book itself not just the character(s) – but it’s not. It’s too romantic at the first half which I really didn’t expect. I actually got a little bit disappointed because I never thought that it will be focused on a love story. Fortunately, it’s sexy.

 

Things I like about A Court of Thorns and Roses?

 

A Court of Thorns and Roses is not cliché. Really, I can’t totally say everything is new about this book but it suddenly came into my mind while reading this. It’s just not cliché.

 

A Court of Thorns and Roses is unpredictable.

 

Even heartless is an understatement to describe the antagonist. Ruthless, merciless, soulless, evil, I honestly don’t know how to describe the antagonist. You’ll all gonna HATE her.

 

SEXY. This is what I really love in this book. It’s unquestionably sexy.

 

Tamlin. There are some times where I can’t get Tamlin but there are no time where I disliked him. I love him, seriously. I think I’m obsessing over him. It’s been a while since I felt this towards a character. I want to be Feyre because I want to be Tamlin’s. And I want Tamlin to be mine. He’s hot af.

 

Heart-pounding. There’s no doubt how heart-pounding it is. It made my heart beats so fast like it might burst out of my chest.

 

It literally left me breatheless. Literally guys. My hand was sweating and I was holding the pages too tight while I was carefully reading the words silently and I was really catching my breath. Aghh it’s too intense.

 

The ending. One of the best ending I had ever read.

 

Feyre is not that typical predictable character like any other female main characters do. Yes we know her, we know what she can do, we know almost everything, but unlike any other female main characters out there which I can sometimes easily comprehend that I can almost predict everything they will say or do, Feyre is not. She’s bad ass but not the kind of bad ass that is cold or has a heart of steal. Feyre is kind, loving, stubborn and brave, so brave.

 

Because of the hype and the cover, the synopsis, and the tagline of this book, I wasn’t expecting ACOTAR to be like this; to drown me into feels – not from sadness, not from hatred, and not from anything negative but from happiness, from love. Because of the tagline, I expected it to be so intense, full of action, and full of killing/slaying scenes but it wasn’t. Yes it’s unquestionably intense, there are some killing/slaying scenes, but it wasn’t really full of actions for me – not until it reached more than the half of the book (but still not action-packed like what I have expected). It is indeed creepy and scary because of the creatures living in Prythian. It made my heart beat so fast for so many times, sometimes because I was nervous and scared, but most of time it is because of happiness, of passion, of sexiness, and of love from Tamlin and Feyre.

 

Though it is far from what I had truly expected, I already understand what the hype is all about. A Court of Thorns and Roses deserves it. This is indeed worthy of every single dime and time.

 

A Court of Thorns and Roses is a story of a huntress and a beast…

                                                                                                                     …hard to forget.

 

“I love you,” I said, and stabbed him.

hkk

cc6cd299a1dea0dd22e18fc60e15f721 cc6cd299a1dea0dd22e18fc60e15f721cc6cd299a1dea0dd22e18fc60e15f721cc6cd299a1dea0dd22e18fc60e15f721cc6cd299a1dea0dd22e18fc60e15f721-copy

khi

3433047Sarah J. Maas is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series, as well as the A Court of Thorns and Roses series.

Sarah lives in Bucks County, PA, and over the years, she has developed an unhealthy appreciation for Disney movies and bad pop music. She adores fairy tales and ballet, drinks too much tea, and watches an ungodly amount of TV. When she’s not busy writing, she can be found exploring the historic and beautiful Pennsylvania countryside with her husband and canine companion.

Find her on:

http://sarahjmaas.com/

Twitter

Disclaimer: Credits to the respective owners of the photo and gifs I used.

wertyu

 

 

8 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

    1. Thank you, Jordan! I just finished the sequel last night and yes, it is really better. 🙂 It’s so much better. I haven’t read ToG series yet but I’m hearing that it’s also good.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m reading this book now. I’m only on chapter 2 though. I can’t wait to finish it now! I love how honest you are with what you liked and disliked. I also liked the fact that you gave your reactions to the book, along with the gifs. The gifs were a great touch. (lol) Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OMG Go girl! Enjoy the ride! You’ll need ACOMAF immediately after reading that!

      THANK YOU VERY MUCH! That mean a lot. So glad you liked it. Including gifs on reviews are so fun! 😊💕

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

