YA Contemporary · Young Adult

BOOK REVIEW:Dreaming of Antigone by Robin Bridges

ISBN: 1496703545

Title: Dreaming of Antigone

Author: Robin Bridges

Publisher: Kensington

Publication Date: March 29, 2016

Format: Paperback

Number of pages: 244

yg - Copy

Every star has its own path…

“I can’t ever be the blazing star that Iris was. I’m still just a cold, dark satellite orbiting a star that went super nova.”

Andria’s twin sister, Iris, had adoring friends, a cool boyfriend, a wicked car, and a shelf full of soccer trophies. She had everything, in fact—including a drug problem. Six months after Iris’s death, Andria is trying to keep her grades, her friends, and her family from falling apart. But stargazing and books aren’t enough to ward off her guilt that she—the freak with the scary illness and all-black wardrobe—is still here when Iris isn’t. And then there’s Alex Hammond. The boy Andria blames for Iris’s death. The boy she’s unwittingly started swapping lines of poetry and secrets with, even as she tries to keep hating him.

Heartwrenching, smart, and bold, Dreaming of Antigone is a story about the jagged pieces that lie beneath the surface of the most seemingly perfect life…and how they can fit together to make something wholly unexpected.

hv

“And the heavens will shine down and we’ll kiss like a happy couple at the end of a Shakespearean comedy.

 

But I know it won’t happen. This is Greek tragedy. And I’m just as broken as he is.”

 

Dreaming of Antigone talks about the sensitive issue of illness, sexual abuse, drugs, and depression.

 

Andria’s twin sister Iris, died because of drugs overdoes. Now that her twin sister is gone, Andria is trying to keep her, her friends and her family from falling apart. But there is Alex Hammond, Iris’s boyfriend. The guy she doesn’t know she’s secretly swapping lines of poetry with. And the guy Andria blames her sister’s death with. But Andria is starting to feel something else aside from hatred for Alex Hammond. And truth about Iris’s death unfolds.

 

Alex Hammond and Andria Webb are both hunted by Iris’s death.

 

“but there’s no where I’d rather be. The stars are calling me. I’d like to think that Iris is up there somewhere. Finally at peace. I think she’d like Butterfly Nebula. Four thousand light-years away, it hangs out at the tail of Scorpius.”

 

Andria Webb is a character who got my heart at the very first page. Andria is a deep, strong, and emotional person. She is the kind of gal I personally want to befriend – maybe we could just stare at the night sky together every night, while swapping lines of poetry. Andria, despite of being her twin sister’s shadow always tries to look at the bright side of everything and be strong.

 

Alex at first didn’t appeared to be interesting for me. But as the story goes by, I saw how interesting he really is. And he’s in fact, hard not to love. Alex Hammond was almost the same as Iris – but he changed. Alex is not like those unrealistic male character I always see. She doesn’t intend to make Alex that character every girl is dreaming of. His flaws are always there. Miss Robin Bridges never tried to hide it, which I truly love.

 

At first, I was really not impressed and was a little bit disappointed. Though at the very first chapter, I started loving it because it honestly made me euphoric. I am the kind of person who loves staring at the night sky especially when the stars are up there. And the scene Andria gave me at the very first chapter (and the preceding) made me love her immediately. But there comes the writing. There are times at the first few chapters where I found the writing weak and utterly unconvincing. But sooner, I saw how it developed and became better. The feelings in every words or lines are not constantly there, but when it does, it will hit you hard – really hard. I was in rage and in pain because of this book. It almost made my stomach turn at some point. It also almost made me cry – I honestly don’t know if it was because of sadness or hatred, maybe both.

 

The reading journey should be depressing – yes it is – but it is the opposite either.  Aside from drugs, sexual abuse, illness, depression and troubled teenagers, it also brings us to the world of poetry and astrology. Which shouldn’t worked. But it did.

 

This is thy hour O Soul, thy free flight into the wordless…

pondering the themes thou lovest best,

Night, sleep, death and the stars.

-Walt Withman

 

The thing about this book is, if the story will not work for you, the poems and the things Andria will teach you about constellations will get you. I enjoyed and love the information and terms Andria was giving me about poems and constellations. It honestly amazed me. How she can recognize comets, nebula, and other things you can see at the outer space’s names. And it made me research those things which I really enjoyed. I also searched for the meaning of Antigone and found out that it has something to do with Greek mythology (it’s also explained in the book). And what other things I have learned or discovered because of this book is actually cool. I don’t read much poetry but this book made me to. And I discovered a lot of poems – which I am actually memorizing now.

 

I like the ending. It is utterly heart-warming but I want to know more. And I want Andria and Alex to have more, they deserve more. It ends with a lot of questions desperately begging for answers. Like, what really happened to Alex and Andria? Are Andria and her mom will still move somewhere far from Athens? What will also happen to Trista and Natalie? And what about Craig?

 

Overall, this book is really beautiful – on the inside and out. Robin Bridges just made imperfect characters that will surely touch every reader’s hearts. She is not afraid to tackle sensitive issues and how and why they are there. It is fast-paced and I just finished this book within a day. It’s heartfelt. Maybe at some point, it wasn’t exactly the words used that got me, maybe it was the thought. I honestly don’t know how all the negative and positive aspects of life worked altogether. It’s amazing how the darkest parts of life worked and blended with the most beautiful things in life.

 

The things I didn’t liked are the unconvincing writing and Miss Robin Bridges’ not giving enough closure – not only for the story itself but also for the other characters. Iris’s didn’t got the chance to be saved but Alex did. But why only Alex? There are Nat, Trista, and other characters who also need to be saved. But WHAT HAPPENED?? Talking about these sensitive issues, I guess I just also needed more information on how to survive and leave those kinds of things behind. Miss Robin Bridges dragged us to this world full of pain, addiction, hatred, abuse, but didn’t thought us how to completely free ourselves and leave it all behind.

 

“Someone like you just wouldn’t get poems by someone like her.”

“Someone like me? What makes you think you know me?” he asks quietly.

 

I recommend this to people who are finding a quick read with realistic and relatable characters that talks about sensitive issues in life. And also, if you are the type of person who loves poetry and astrology, I’m 100% sure you’ll enjoy this.

 

Perfect song for this book: Bring Me The Night

hkk

 

cc6cd299a1dea0dd22e18fc60e15f721cc6cd299a1dea0dd22e18fc60e15f721cc6cd299a1dea0dd22e18fc60e15f721cc6cd299a1dea0dd22e18fc60e15f721-copy

khi

4094048By day, Robin Bridges is a mild mannered writer of young adult fiction. By night, she is a pediatric nurse, poking small children with needles for a living. She lives on the Gulf Coast with her family and an ever-growing menagerie of cats, dogs, tropical fish, and parrots. But alas, she still does not have a unicorn.

 

Find her on:

http://www.robinbridges.com/

Twitter

 

Purchase here:

Indie Bound | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

 

*Thank you very much Miss Robin Bridges for providing me a copy in exchange of an honest book review. The book recieved has nothing to do with my review.

 

Thank you!

-Karina 😊

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

