Paranormal · Young Adult

BOOK REVIEW: The Undoer by Melissa J. Cunningham

Title: The Undoer

Series: The Ransomed Souls #3

Author: Melissa J. Cunningham

Publisher: Clean Teen Publishing

Publication Date: May 10, 2016

Format: ebook

ISBN:

Number of pages: 

Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal

ghj

“They call it The Door to Hell. It’s a blackened crater that never stops spewing up poisonous gas. But gas isn’t the only thing coming from the bowels of the Earth…
They slither out, those malevolent souls—demonic filth that wreak havoc and destroy lives. They don’t even pretend to hide…
Brecken, an ex-demon trying to find redemption, is given the task of closing The Door. It’s a seemingly impossible task. A group of teens who call themselves Cazadors will be his allies. These extraordinary youth can see the demons when no one else can, but Jag, their leader, wants nothing to do with Brecken.
Brecken must earn their confidence and defeat the demon horde infiltrating the Earth.
The Cazadors might not be much… but they are all the world has.”

sdfghjkl

The characters, the plot are so interesting. When I knew that this book is all about angels, demons, heaven, earth and hell, I prepared myself for more action, fighting, or slaying scenes but I didn’t got what I had expected. Melissa Cunningham has a unique way of telling this kind of story. And I really love it.

Reading this, instead of visualizing it as a movie, I visualize it as an anime or manga kind of thing.

It is written in different point of views, mostly on Brecken’s, Heidi’s, and Dean’s which I really didn’t like at first. The beginning went so confusing. I had a hard time realizing that what I am reading is from another character’s point of view already and not from Brecken’s anymore. And I also had mistaken Dean and Jag as bisexual. It’s one of the reasons I really thought that this book will not work for me. I can always find some little details that lead me to so many misunderstandings. But that’s the thrilling part here, it made me feel like I’m a professional investigator, it made me feel like I already found the missing pieces, that I can already solve the puzzle but I’m wrong. I’m always wrong. You think that it’s predictable, but it’s not.

I love everything about Brecken., from him being a protective brother to being a perfectly skilled demon slayer. And I also love Dean, he is my favorite character. He is really like a dude from a Japanese comics or manga. He is just so cool and I just love how gentle, kind, and loving he is. You will not know what kind of demons are living inside of him. He’s extraordinary. I love/hate the relationship between Jag and Heidi and the “secret” love triangle. And I like how Owen and Doug makes everything in the group of The Cazadors balanced.

I like the ending. It’s brilliant but not that satisfying because there are still few little things that didn’t had a proper closure and questions that didn’t had answers.

I recommend this book for paranormal lovers who likes to read a thrilling novel of love, loss, friendship, and sorrow.

qwedf

cc6cd299a1dea0dd22e18fc60e15f721cc6cd299a1dea0dd22e18fc60e15f721cc6cd299a1dea0dd22e18fc60e15f721cc6cd299a1dea0dd22e18fc60e15f721

 

drfghjkl

7264230Melissa J Cunningham (also known as M.E. Cunningham) comes from a land, far, far away, and ended up on a little farm in northern Utah, living with numerous magical creatures: horses, chickens, dogs, cats, and a goat. Cunningham began writing quite by accident, the fall through the fabric of time dropped M.E. into the mysterious land of Terratir (The Eye of Tanub).

Favorite topics include ghosts, monsters, dragons, and magic. Cunningham also likes TV, going to the movies, and camping in the mountains as long as there are no spiders, mosquitoes, or ticks.

Cunningham’s first book, Reluctant Guardian, was published in August 2013. While always in search of the strange and unexplainable, this author will write each story as it is discovered. Be on the look out!

Find her on:

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads

qwert

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | eBay

Disclaimer: Thank you Miss Melissa J. Cuningham for providing me a copy in exchange of an honest book review. The copy received had nothing to do with my review.

 

wertyu

Leave a Reply

