BOOK REVIEW: It’ll Feel Better When It Quits Hurting by Lisa M. Orban

Title: It’ll Feel Better When It Quits Hurting

Author: Lisa M. Orban

Publisher: Lisa M. Orban

Publication Date: September 30, 2015 

Format: ebook

Number of Pages: 267

Genre: Memoir

ghj

Many years ago my friends and I would sit around and play what we called “Jerry Springer: the Home Game”. The object of the game was to see how many upcoming shows we qualified for, with the story to support our claim, and whoever had the most at the end of the program won. I was the reigning champion. This book started off as just a lighthearted collection of antidotes, stories shared with friends over the years to both the horror and delight of my audience. But as I began to write I realized that the humor of my life comes not from the light moments, but the dark, and without those moments being included much of the humor would be lost without that context. This book is a bit darker than I initially intended, but I hope that while reading this I can make you smile, even on occasion laugh out loud at the ridiculousness of the situations I have found myself in over the years, and that you, like me, can find the humor in all the dark places. I do not believe I have any wisdom to share in this telling, nor is it even an inspirational tale of achievement by overcoming adversity, it is simply my life that I have survived. For better or worse, this is the mostly true, fairly accurate, and almost completely factual account of my life. Some liberties have been taken to protect the somewhat innocent and a few small embellishments were made for the sake of a good story.

sdfghjkl

This is my life, for better or for worse, and I would not change a single line.

Lisa Orban shares the most colorful and darkest side of her life.

I used to think that memoir will never work for me but this book proved me wrong.

It made me smile, laugh, pissed, nervous and feel a great amount of relief. I can’t say that I enjoyed every single page of it not because the writing or the story is bad but because the situation is just sometimes too hard to handle. The darkest parts of this book made me feel grateful of what kind of family and life I have.

The most noticeable and best part of this book which I really love is the narration. The narration feels so natural. It feels like a friend is talking to me and telling me what happened to her days when she was gone. The book is very well written. It just feels so good and comfortable to read. And Miss Lisa’s positive outlook in life is another best thing. She can always find the bright side in every downpour in her life.

It’ll Feel Better When It Quits Hurting is very inspiring. It is because of the wonderful person who is beyond of it. It is really nice to know that you are not alone, that you are not the only one in this world going through these tough times. And I adore Miss Lisa Orban for sharing her life and telling the truth. It takes a lot of courage to do that. It makes me want to hug her and thank her for the helluva ride of emotions she gave me. The ups, downs and twist and turns of the story will really hook you into it. Every single tick of the clock it had cost me was definitely worth it.

And lastly, I just want to say how lucky she is to have all of those people in her life. No matter what their role is, temporary or not, good or bad, they are a huge part of what she had become now. It thought me that for every person that came into my life, I shouldn’t be mad for what unpleasant or bad things they have done, but instead, I should just accept it and learn from it. And it will really feel better when it quits hurting. Just fight and keep going, everything will sooner fall into place.

I recommend this to everyone who’s finding a long, hilarious, inspiring, heart breaking, intense, and gripping read. I assure you, it will be a wonderful ride.

qwedf

cc6cd299a1dea0dd22e18fc60e15f721cc6cd299a1dea0dd22e18fc60e15f721cc6cd299a1dea0dd22e18fc60e15f721cc6cd299a1dea0dd22e18fc60e15f721

drfghjkl

14534843.jpgLisa Orban was born in Galesburg, IL in 1969. She was moved by her parents (without even asking!) to Quincy as a small child. Bouncing from parent to parent, and house to house until at 16 she was given a broader tour of the state courtesy of foster care.

At 18, she voluntarily left for Phoenix with a high school friend where she lived for three years. After returning to Quincy, she went to college and earned an Associates of Arts in Psychology, with a minor in Art. Over the years she has held many jobs, but never quite found the right one. She has written poetry and short stories on a variety of subjects from raising children to finance for online publication. Finally in 2013, after much urging from her friends for years, she sat down one day and started writing about her life.

She is the mother of five children, all grown and gone, except her youngest. Which she is sure is trying to drive her mad (as all teenagers do) and has plans to write another book in the future about their childhood, much to their anticipated dismay.

She currently lives in her hometown, in the house she loves, and at the center of the chaos she enjoys so much. Often surrounded by her children, her loves, friends and the strays (both two legged and four) she takes in. She continues to seek out new adventures, misadventures and new mistakes to fill the pages of her next book, laughing as she goes.

Find her on:

WebsiteTwitter | Goodreads

qwert

Amazon

h

Have you read this book? Share your thoughts! 😊wertyu

4 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: It’ll Feel Better When It Quits Hurting by Lisa M. Orban

  1. I’ve never heard of this book before, but it sounds like something I’d like to read. I recently read Yeonmi Park’s memoir about how she escaped from North Korea, and it opened my eyes to the terrible injustices that go on there. I feel like this book this book would be a roller coaster of emotions for me, so — that makes me want to read it even more.
    Thank you for writing this lovely review, and for sharing this book! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, what book is it? I’m curious. It sounds interesting. I want to know what you learned/knew from this book also. I think I’m going to like it either. 🙂 I’ll add it on my tbr.

      I know it will! I also hope you’ll enjoy the ride if you’ll read this. I was so glad this book’s my first memoir read ever. I never thought that I’ll like a memoir. You’re welcome, my friend! And thank you also! 😊❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The book was called ‘In Order to Live’ and the author is Yeonmi Park! I’ll write a review for it one day, but, I guess I just learned the extent and power of a cult of personality. It was harrowing, but I learned so much from Yeonmi’s struggles. If you have time, watch this video (http://thebitca.tumblr.com/post/103764341346/the-transcript-of-yeonmi-parks-speech link is to the transcript, link of the video is at the top!)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

