BOOK REVIEW: The Guardian, A Sword & Stilettos by Kristin D. Van Risseghem

ISBN: 1943207070

Title: The Guardian, A Sword & Stilettos

Series: The Enlighten Series #1

Author: Kristin D. Van Risseghem

Publisher: Kasian Publishing

Publication Date: May 20, 2015

Format: ebook

ghj

Zoe Jabril could be just another 17-year-old girl attending parties with her friends and checking out cute guys—except her best friend is a Guardian Angel, and the boy she crushes on is a Nephilim, half-angel, both sent to Earth to protect her. A high school classmate happens to be a trendsetting shopaholic fairy. And now there’s a new werewolf in town.

Zoe has to deal with her feelings toward Shay, who spreads a strange electrical current through her body every time he touches her. Now Zoe is under constant attack from demons, trying to kill and stop her from fulfilling the Prophecy: a girl will be born who will unite the Enlightens to battle evil. Then on top of that, between boring homework and drama with girls at school, she has to control new found talents if she’s to prevent the devil from escaping Hell.

In order to do so, Zoe must devise a kick-ass plan ASAP or watch everyone die, because she’s running out of time. She turns eighteen in two months—the date Armageddon kicks off.

sdfghjkl

The Guardian, A Sword, & Stilettos is the book one of the Enlighten series.

It is written on two POVs; mostly on Zoe’s and sometimes on third.

This book is a fantasy. Yes I can see it but I can’t f-ing feel it! I see that this book is mainly all about mythical creatures which perfectly fits for its genre. But this one is so cliché. And it didn’t gave me neither the feels norsatisfaction that I always get when I’m reading a fantasy book.

The beginning of the story already showed how cliché this story will be. I already saw that scene on The Mortal Instruments. It’s not perfectly the same but it’s also like that. And aside of that, it doesn’t also have a strong voice. Reading it bores me. And almost everything is so dull.

There are just only three (3) things that I liked when I’m reading this this book:

First is the Love interests. I love the pairs in this book. Especially the love triangle between the two hot and sizzling male creatures and an ordinary girl. Yes, it’s definitely cliché and I already saw that on so many popular books or movies but still, there’s something special on them. It actually made me jealous at some point! I mean, who wouldn’t want to be in that same situation just like her (the ordinary girl) – just except all the running, hiding, and fighting of the demons? Who wouldn’t? And the real feelings and intentions of both men are just so pure you would really want to read and feel them for so many freaking times. And mind you, not only this triangle but also all pairs in this book has the story you must watch for! Each will really find a place in your heart.

Second is the Title. The meaning of the title! Yes! I already figured it out without even reaching 50% of the book. I had never felt so excited figuring out a book’s title because I can’t find a reason why figured it out but this book’s excites me! I mean, it feels like a puzzle that I am slowly solving without me even realizing. That was fun. The Guardian, A Sword, & Stilettos just perfectly makes sense! It’s just that I think, there’s somethingmissing. And it’s just also sad that the consequence of having to know the meaning of the title of this book had brought me into some kind of terrible and sad conclusions. But I really like Miss Kristin’s idea to have The Guardian, A Sword & Stiletto as the title.

Lastly, are the Other characters. Yes, the “other characters” and NOT the main character. I don’t like Zoe Jabril, the main character. She is just so typical. Like reading typical ordinary girls are already used so many times so what else do I need to expect from this girl aside from her hidden powers? I like Shay and Kilean, also because they are the hot and sizzling creatures I am talking about earlier. They are both not typical in their own different ways. I mean, they just both can catch the heart of their female readers easily. Their characters are so interesting. Also Sidelle, the popular shopaholic girl friend of our Zoe Jabril. I just love her she’s so entertaining even though she is not meant to bring humor still, her existence is also a big contribution to this book. Also Vash, even though Vash reminds me of Jacob from the Twilight series, he’s still different. And I just love him being his own kind of territorial. He’s scary but also soft like a pup to me specially when the topic of his “mate” is being talked about.

Without these three, I think I would not have even finished this book. And sure enough, I would not have enjoyed it. So this book is fortunate enough to have these three things.

This story has been a mix of The Mortal Instruments, Twilight, and Carry On for me (it’s just that it doesn’t contains that much magic like Carry On by Rainbow Rowell). Good vs. Evil, angels, demons, fairies, werewolves, and a prophecy, everything was just already used for like soooo maaany freaking times. I can almost recall some certain scenes/parts from another book when I’m reading it. I just hope Miss Kristin Risseghem had came up into more unique and convincing plot or twist. And not something dull like this.

I really hate reading books – especially fantasy – with cliché plot. But maybe we can see what the next books in this series can offer.

qwedf

3-flowersdrfghjkl

13665730Kristin D. Van Risseghem grew up in a small river town along the Mississippi River with her parents and older sister. Currently, Kristin lives in Minnesota with her husband and two Calico cats. She also loves attending book clubs, going shopping, and hanging out with friends. She has come to realize that she absolutely has an addiction to purses and shoes. They are her weakness and probably has way too many of both.

In the summer months, Kristin can usually be found lounging on her boat, drinking an ice cold something. Being an avid reader of YA and Women’s Literature stories, she still finds time to read a ton of books in-between writing. And in the winter months, her main goal is to stay warm from the Minnesota cold!

Kristin’s books are published by Kasian Publishing.

Find her on:

Website

Twitter

qwert

Amazon |  Ebay |  Barnes & Noble

*Thank you Netgalley and Kasian Publishing for accepting my request and providing me a copy in exchange of an honest book review.

wertyu

Leave a Reply

