Blog Award

Blogger Recognition Award

Thank you very much Ate Alyssa ofΒ Book Huntress’ World for the nomination! Yup, this is my blog’s first ever award. πŸ˜‰πŸ˜ Thanks again, Ate Alyssa! You guys might want to visit her lovely blog.

 

th-1 (1).jpg

 

Rules:

  1. Write a post to show your award
  2. Give a brief story on how your blog started
  3. Give two advises for new bloggers
  4. Thank whoever nominated you, and link their page
  5. Nominate 15 other bloggers

 

June, 2016

That’s the time Afire Pages started running. It’s been 5 months since I started my blog and I can say that’s since then, blogging became an important part of my life.

 

I started reading YA novels when I was in fourth year high school (somewhere on December because I received it as a gift from someone special) and that novel is The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. I grew up with books. Reading is really a huge part of my life since I was child. I was a sickling back then so I was not allowed to get that tired so I spent my days with anything that I can read. First, it was a hobby then as I grew up, it became a passion.

 

When I was in fourth year high school (that’s the time when I was still addicted to Wattpad) I discovered that English novels aren’t just for old or nerd people because growing up, that’s what I always thought. So I saw this The Fault in Our Stars movie and decided to read the book. Then after a month or so, I read Looking For Alaska (Yes! I started with John Green) and I loved that story so much. Back then, I’ll just read whenever I want or whenever I don’t have anything else to do but when I got in college, I started to be more serious. I started craving new stories, new lives, new characters to meet and discover. Then along the way, I discovered Goodreads where I can find my next read so I made an account and got addicted to this site. That’s where I learned about book reviews. Honestly, I first thought that reviews are just like comments (lol) but while reading reviews – that I always thought as comments – I noticed how I always see the word Netgalley too often so I searched for it and the real meaning of “review” too. When I finally learned things about this two, I suddenly had an urge to write book reviews. I don’t know but, as someone who loves to read the idea of writing a book review is such an interesting and lovely thing. Then I wanted to discover Netgalley more so I signed up and learned that I should have a blog and that’s where the idea of blogging came. I read books on the “Read Now” section of Netgalley and write reviews of it. Basically I used it as a practice but I always make sure that my review is honest no matter how crappy I write. I post my reviews on Goodreads and Amazon back then. Then I did this regularly, up to the point that it became a routine.

 

After a month of reading and reviewing from Netgalley, I started imaging what my blog might be, how I will manage it and planned about it. Then after a long time of imagining it, on June 2016 it became true. Basically, I started blogging because I wanted a place where I can post any bookish thing I want – especially my reviews. I wanted a place I can call mine, where everything I, or anyone will see is mine.Β So yeah, that’s how and why I started.

 

My advises for anyone out there who are planning to make him/her book blog:

  1. Do it because of love.Β You don’t need to do it if you don’t really love it. This is the main thing you need to have in starting a blog. Blogging is not an easy thing to do especially when you’re just starting. It requires patience, fresh ideas and a lot of time. So if you don’t do this because of love, how can you give the things it’ll need from you?
  2. Be committed.Β 
  3. Be open to suggestions, ideas and more information.
  4. Write, just write what you want.
  5. If you’re planning to make a blog because of ARC, don’t do it.
  6. Know your purpose.
  7. Make fiends!

 

I nominate:

Subiksha @Β Cover to Cover

Keeana @Β Kee the Reader

Rakel at Mirakel Books

Louise @Β Genie Reads

Jay @Β A Lovelorn Virgo

Breana @Β Pages Bound Together

Reg @Β She Latitude

Kendra @Β Reads and Treats

Mish @Β Bibliophilemish

Pearl @Β Pages of Pearl

Nicka @Β Read by Nicka

Jasmine @Β Smiley Booklover

Claire @Β Claire’s Bookish Wonderland

Brittany @Β Ginger Night Owl

Natalia @Β A Court of Tales

 

If you’ve done this already, just feel free to comment down the link.

sign

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

17 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

    1. Hi Ate! 😊

      Indeed. The idea of having to read a book ahead before the world see it is quite a lovely thing but not enough to start a blog. And if they’ll start their blog just to get an ARC, I really doubt if they’ll get any since there are some requirements publishers are asking to bloggers.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Same! Hahaha πŸ˜ƒ Pero may mga unread pa naman ako sa mga last kong nabili. Wala nga akong nabili sa NBS Cut Price eh yung 50% off 😭 You?

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Wonderful post, Karina! Thanks for nominating me! I really appreciate it and will post mine as soon as possible. ❀ Besides, our beginning of falling in love with reading is quite similar so I can't wait to share my experience with you. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I could definitely relate to your story! Though I started a little earlier, I was in 8th grade/2nd year of HS when I got tired of reading Wattpad stories so I tried to read published books. I also started with John Green’s books, I think TFIOS was the first book I cried the hardest to! I’m so happy that you decided to make this blog, the bookish community is lovelier with you here. Thank you so much for nominating me though I’ve already done this award before, I still appreciate the thought! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m pretty sure I was watching anime, fangirling and reading mangas at that time lol. I just discovered Wattpad when I was in third year high school. Btw, TFIOS made me cry at the end too! Tho there are things I didn’t quite enjoyed about it too. What I love the most is Looking For Alaska while Paper Towns is okay because I loved the movie more than the book especially about the end. Aww, THANK YOU SO MUCH, Louise! You are so sweet! The same with you. πŸ’• I’m glad to meet you here. 😍 Oh, sorry. Can you give me the link of your post instead?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. HAHAHA me either!! Do you still remember She’s Dating the Gangster? Lmao. Thanks for the link, Louise! And Merry Christmas!

        Like

      2. And I got bored on the Paper Towns. I agree, it was slow. It was actually great on the beginning and the night Q went with Margo. I haven’t read AoK yet.

        Like

Leave a Reply

