YA Contemporary

BOOK REVIEW: Anything You Want by Geoff Herbach

26760138.jpg Title: 9781402291449

Author: Geoff Herbach

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Publication Date: May 3, 2016

Format: ebook

Number of Pages:

Genre: YA Contemporary

afire-pages-summary

Expect a bundle of joy—er, trouble—in this hilarious, heartwarming story from the award-winning author of Stupid Fast Geoff Herbach

Taco’s mom always said, “Today is the best day of your life, and tomorrow will be even better.” That was hard to believe the day she died of cancer and when Taco’s dad had to move up north for work, but he sure did believe it when Maggie Corrigan agreed to go with him to junior prom. Taco loves Maggie- even more than the tacos that earned him his nickname. And she loves him right back.

Except all that love? It gets Maggie pregnant. Everyone else may be freaking out, but Taco can’t wait to have a real family again. He just has to figure out what it means to be a dad and how to pass calculus. And then there’s getting Maggie’s parents to like him. Because it would be so much easier for them to be together if he didn’t have to climb the side of the Corrigans’ house to see her…

afire-pages-book-reviews

I read and wrote my review of this book on Goodreads on March.

 

Seriously, this is the hardest review I had ever made. And I really don’t know where to start. So this book review might just be so random.

Is it just me or Taco is really acting like an idiot? Sorry but all I can see here is pure immaturity.

The story is told on Taco’s point of view. So Taco, our main character – who loves to say “dingus” almost all the time – is head over heels with Maggie Corrigan. Taco, invited Maggie to be his date on their upcoming prom and Maggie said yes and that’s where it all started. Maggie and Taco became officially together.

Taco and Maggie loves getting naked, making out, fooling around, and doing all nonsense things together (believe me when I say nonsense). They are definitely in love and happy with each other. It’s all nice except that 1. Maggie’s parents doesn’t like Taco for their daughter 2. Taco is definitely immature and 3. Maggie is so impulsive. Honestly, Taco and Maggie combined, is such a disaster.

The story is about teenage pregnancy. And how two completely different mad, broken and lost teenagers got up from this situation.

 

18715298.gif

 

At the very first page of the story – where Taco asked Maggie to be his prom date – our main character already completely and totally annoyed the hell out of me. Like dang man, is the one narrating the story really a boy? The first thing I noticed is how Taco is using the word “duh” frequently and that sounded so inappropriate because DUH? Do boys in real life or fiction really use this word “duh” too often these days? Oh sorry if I wasn’t informed but DUH that was definitely confusing and at the same time DUH annoying. The language this book has is so irritating.

I wasn’t so sure if the author had intentionally made Taco that way but if he really has an intention to make Taco an irritating, immature, and annoying teenage boy who has an overly-positive outlook in every little things in life, who sounds like a girl, and says dingus all the time, well definitely he made a great job. The immaturity of our main character here is so on the effing highest level! The annoyance it gives is soaring high!

 

14392444.gif

 

Taco alone is already annoying so what more if the crazy Maggie Corrigan is also there? I’m telling you, Maggie Corrigan is way crazier than Taco. So Taco plus Maggie is such a mess, really. I swear.

At first, after their prom happened, Taco and Maggie was just the “typical annoying couple” who loves to display their affection a lot. As in a lot. Having sex with Maggie Corrigan is definitely not on Taco’s mind until one day.. *poof!* Maggie wants to do it and bye-bye virginity. They begun doing it “recreationally”. Yes, Taco calls it the celebration of their love recreationally . WHAT DA EF right? They are already old enough to know what’s right and what’s wrong and what consequences it will bring but obviously, they don’t know what disaster they are dragging themselves into.

I almost hated this book. I almost DNFed it. But fortunately after a very very long wait, I saw a reason why not to. I saw a slight potential, not on the book but on Taco. In ANYTHING YOU WANT, I saw an immature teenage boy – who accidentally got his impulsive girlfriend pregnant – grow up. I saw how Taco worked very very very hard every day just to have enough money not just for him and his brother Darius but also for Maggie and their baby. I saw him eagerly want to build his own happy family. I saw him fell a couple of times and got up courageously. I saw him appreciate things. I saw him learn how to reject and accept things that we cannot change in life. And I saw the overly-positive William “Taco” Keller broke down, cry, and surrender. I saw how grown up he became. And that’s what I like in this book. It showed me how great life is, that everything will always get better.. someday.

I see that almost everyone either DNFed or hated this book, but here’s the thing, Taco and Maggie are just broken. They both need a lot of fixing not only on their selves but also on the people that surrounds them. Can’t you see that Taco’s life is just tragic? Taco is basically alone in his life while Maggie is mad. Come to think of it, if Taco still have his mom on his side – or at least only Darius or his dad, if Maggie do not hate her parents especially her mom too much, if maybe they can both feel that their families love them, that they are complete, would they still end up dragging themselves into this kind of situation?

“In the end, maybe that is what a best day looks like? Making hard decisions so that the people you love are okay? ”

The whole story is not totally a trash because if it did, of course I wouldn’t even bother to write a review of it instead. It is my first time to read a book that talks about teenage pregnancy so I felt like I must finish it, and so I did. And I felt a kind of relieved and happy at the decision that I made. At least, it already made sense at the end. The ending was not really bad and honestly, I can’t feel any dislike about how the book has ended. To be honest, how the story has ended was so shocking. You wouldn’t really expect it.

Even though this book is written in the most possible annoying way I had ever seen, it still has something to show us in the end. And I honestly never thought that this book will make my heart ache at some point. I really adore people that as strong as Tacco. The book thought me how accurate this line “there is always a rainbow after the rain” is. Never lose hope. With the help of good people who loves you, everything will get better.

I am so proud that I fought the urge of DNF-ing this book. I’m happy that I finished it despite of so many reviews that discouraged me.

And I am really glad that William “Taco” Keller made a good and right decision too.

afire-pages-rating

2 flowers.jpgafire-pages-about-the-author

I am the author of the YA title, Stupid Fast (June 2011 from Sourcebooks Fire). I also wrote The Miracle Letters of T. Rimberg, a Novel from Three Rivers Press. When I’m not writing books, I’m writing for Radio Happy Hour or developing ridiculous musical bits.

When I’m not writing, I’m teaching writing at Minnesota State, Mankato, which means I write a lot of comments about writing on student writing.

Writing a lot of writing and reading about writing and writing on reading.

 

Find him on:

Website

afire-pages-purchase-here

Amazon | Barnes and Noble

*Thank you very much Sourcebooks Fire for providing me a review copy via Netgalley in exchange of an honest book review.

sign

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

