Book Recommendation

Books I’ve Read on 2016 + BOOK RECS!

Hi! Iโ€™m back! And yes, I know, this must be the most late 2016 year-ender post youโ€™ve ever seen. ๐Ÿ˜‚

I became this late partly because of my busy schedule on uni and mostly because I just canโ€™t find the motivation to write a new blog post or anything. Iโ€™m just feeling like a super duper mega lazy bookworm these past few days. I even find it hard to finish reading a 200+ pages book or writing a review. So please forgive me *esp. publishers and authors who sent me review copies!* if itโ€™s taking me so long to write and post my reviews after reading your books. Itโ€™s just that I canโ€™t find the will to write anything. I just managed to write this post because I will just share to you the books Iโ€™ve read last year and my top 5 picks that I surely recommend to everyone! And I’ve been planning to post this ever since before 2016 ended.

So Iโ€™ve read 52 books out of my goal of reading 40 books. And here they are…

Among these 52 books, there are 3 OUTSTANDING BOOKS that I definitely recommend to you:

Melophobia by James Morris

Melophobia: fear or hatred of music.

The timeโ€”now; the placeโ€”America, but in a world where the government controls all forms of art and creativity. Any music sowing the seeds of anarchy is bannedโ€”destroyed if foundโ€”its creators and listeners harshly punished.

Merrin Pierce works as an undercover Patrol officer assigned to apprehend a fugitive musician who threatens the safe fabric of society, only to confront everything she thought to be true โ€“ her values, upbringing, job, and future.

Can love survive in a world without music?

Publisherโ€™s Weeklyย called it โ€œa convincing alternative history novel andโ€ฆan accomplished coming-of-age love story that asks big questions about freedom and expressiveness in the face of oppression.โ€


A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas


Feyre is immortal.

After rescuing her lover Tamlin from a wicked Faerie Queen, she returns to the Spring Court possessing the powers of the High Fae. But Feyre cannot forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people – nor the bargain she made with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court.

As Feyre is drawn ever deeper into Rhysand’s dark web of politics and passion, war is looming and an evil far greater than any queen threatens to destroy everything Feyre has fought for. She must confront her past, embrace her gifts and decide her fate.

She must surrender her heart to heal a world torn in two.ย 


sindu_cover_final_smallMarriage of A Thousand Lies by SJ Sindu


Lakshmi, called Lucky, is an unemployed programmer. She likes to dance, to have a drink or two, and she does art on commission. Fifty bucks gets you high-resolution digital images of anything you want (Orcs, mermaids, fan couples in sexy boudoir scenes) and a nice frameable print. Luckyโ€™s husband, Krishna, is an editor for a greeting card company. Both are secretly gay. They present their conservative Sri Lankan-American families with a heterosexual front, while each one secretly dates on the side. When Luckyโ€™s grandmother has a nasty fall, Lucky returns to her motherโ€™s home to act as caretaker and unexpectedly reconnects with her childhood best friend and first lover, Nisha. Nisha has agreed to an arranged marriage with a man she doesnโ€™t knowโ€ฆ but she wants to hook up with Lucky again.

Lucky wants to save Nisha from entering a marriage based on a lieโ€”but does Nisha really want to be saved? And what does Lucky want, anyway? It doesnโ€™t always get better. To live openly means that Lucky would lose most of the community she was born intoโ€”a community she loves, an irreplaceable home. As Luckyโ€”an outsider no matter what choices she makesโ€”is pushed to the breaking point, MARRIAGE OF A THOUSAND LIES offers a moving exploration of friendship, family, and love, shot through with humor and loss.

I am challenging myself to read 50 books this 2017. And as of January 30, 2017 I’ve just read only 3 books which means – according to Goodreads – I am still on track. ๐Ÿ˜Š

2016 is a wonderful year for me. Itโ€™s the year my love for reading YA novels completely developed. And Iโ€™m glad to read such amazing novels that I will forever treasure in my heart.

I hope you had a wonderful 2016 too. And I hope, 2017 will be more amazing for all of us! *whispers* and I hope Iโ€™ll be more productive this year too.

What am I currently reading?
I’m currently reading…

How about you? What are you currently reading? And how is it so far?

Leave a Reply

