Romance · Young Adult

Only A Kiss by Ines Bautista-Yao

 

23705867.jpg

ASIN: B00PI7SDW2

Title: Only A Kiss

Author: Ines Bautista-Yao

Publisher: Chamber Shell Publishing

Publication Date: November 29th, 2014

Format: Kindle Edition

Number of pages: 104afire-pages-summaryWhen she was nine-years-old, Katie knew she wanted Chris to give her her first kiss. It wasn’t because she was in love with him (no way, he was her best friend! Besides, she was in love with his fourteen-year-old big brother), it was because she could make him do anything she wanted.

Besides, it didn’t really mean anything. It was only a kiss after all.

But then things started to change. They grew up. They parted ways and went to different high schools. And other girls and boys—well, just one particular boy—came into the picture, throwing their lives upside down.

Told from the alternating points of view of Katie and Chris, this love story between two best friends will tug at your heartstrings and leave you thinking how the simplest things can mean so much.afire-pages-book-reviews

The story is actually just simple. Childhood best friends turned to lovers. That’s it. I am actually not a fan of best friends to lovers trope. I never did and I never will. I’m honestly just so sick of it. I’ve already seen this trope for a lot of times from books to movies to TV shows. But apparently, this time, in Miss Ines Bautista-Yao’s book, I seemed to have forgotten that.

I dove into this book without any expectations and without any knowledge of what is waiting for me at all. I just wanted to read something quick at that time. And I know that this one is a kind of short book so I chose it. I always encounter this one in our local bookstores but I never bought it. I just got a copy of this when it was free on Amazon so I immediately grabbed the chance and downloaded it to my Kindle. I’ve been curious to read these books written in English language from Filipino authors for a while. So I thought that that might be a good opportunity for me to finally try reading their works. I used to read books from our local Filipino authors but those were all written in our own language, Filipino. So reading an English book from a Filipino author is really new to me. But I think I will sooner get used to it because Miss Ines Bautista-Yao seemed to have used some magic to me. I am now truly interested and will surely buy other books like this.

Katie and Chris were best friends. They were both attracted to someone else from the very start. They were just purely “just best friends” who treated each other like a sibling. That is Katie and Chris, just bff from the start. They both like someone else. It’s always that way. Their crushes or gf/bf may change but it always someone else who is going to be next. Until they grew up, realized things and things became just so much complicated for them.

This book is pretty short when it comes to its page count but the story hidden inside its pages seems like not. It was really a long journey, from childhood to being adults. In just more than a hundred pages, Miss Ines Bautista-Yao managed to write a book that has a powerful effect to the reader. It made me swoon MOST of the time. I honestly can’t imagine how this book made me swoon so hard. I was like grinning most of the time and there were times where I just really want to scream because I was just so kinikilig.

Only A Kiss is not just about being swept off your feet and swooning. It is also about learning and knowing who and what you really want and need in life. It’s about discovering. It’s about learning lessons while you grow. It’s about loving, living and choosing.

The characters just felt so natural, so real. That is why it was just easy to understand them and even imagine myself on their feet. Chris and Katie’s story was just like the story of Love, Rosie’s Alex and Rosie. At some point, I felt like what I was reading is a retold story of Love, Rosie. It’s just that the characters were extremely different.

The plot is nothing really extra-ordinary. But if there’s one thing for sure that’s extra-ordinary in this book: that is how strong the emotions it conveys. It’s so strong I just felt like I was drugged in love. Not drunk, but drugged, really. This is just so good. The moment I started it, I cannot already put it down. I finish this in less than 8 hours. And I really want more. This kind of book is what I need in my reader’s life. These characters are who I need to meet. The way this book made me swoon is how I need it to be. This book will make your reading time feel like magic.

Only A Kiss is a quick cutesy read. One that will make you swoon so hard. It will make you feel like you are floating in the air. Like you’re as in love as these characters are. Like you’re in love even though you’re not. If you’re finding a quick heart-melting read, I recommend this to you. ❤

afire-pages-rating

4-flowers

afire-pages-about-the-author

5359512Reading and writing are close to Ines Bautista Yao’s heart ever since she was a child. She graduated from the Ateneo de Manila University with a degree in AB Communication Arts. She has been a teacher at the Assumption College San Lorenzo and the Ateneo de Manila University’s English department.

Her debut novel One Crazy Summer was first penned in 2007 when she was pregnant with her first daughter Addie. Being a mother has taken much of Ines’ time so she was only able to write 13 pages of her novel. She completed her story in April 2011, while three-year-old Addie was sleeping and inspiration struck her again. Two months later her story was complete. After eight months, her dream of publishing her own book came true. The book was only launched last January 26, 2012, but Ines is already writing her second novel.

Most readers can remember Ines as the former editor-in-chief of K-Zone Magazine and Candy Magazine . At present, Ines is working as an editor of Summit Books. She is also married to photographer Marc Yao, whom she says she consults whenever she’s stuck in the middle of a story she’s writing.

Find her on:

theeverydayprojectblog.com | Twitter | Goodreads

afire-pages-purchase-here

wertyu

2 thoughts on “Only A Kiss by Ines Bautista-Yao

    1. Hi CW! 😘 Thank you so much! It was set here in the Philippines. (I should have included that on my review, I forgot 😫😔)

      Like

Leave a Reply

