Even If The Sky Falls by Mia Garcia

24218983ASIN:

Title: Even If The Sky Falls

Author: Mia Garcia

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

Publishing Date: May 10, 2016

Format: Hardcover

Number of Pages: 304

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Realistic Fiction

afire-pages-summary

All she needs is one night to be anyone she wants.

Julie is desperate for a change. So she heads to New Orleans with her youth group to rebuild houses and pretend her life isn’t a total mess. But between her super-clingy team leader and her way-too-chipper companions, Julie feels more trapped than ever.

In a moment of daring, she ditches her work clothes for DIY fairy wings and heads straight into the heart of Mid-Summer Mardi Gras, where she locks eyes with Miles, an utterly irresistible guy with a complicated story of his own. And for once, Julie isn’t looking back. She jumps at the chance to see the real New Orleans, and in one surreal night, they dance under the stars, share their most shameful secrets, and fall in love.

But their adventure takes an unexpected turn when an oncoming hurricane changes course. As the storm gains power and Julie is pulled back into chaos she finds pretending everything is fine is no longer an option.

afire-pages-book-reviews

“I don’t care how much truth there is to this night. I’m not looking for truth, I’m looking to escape”

 

Even If the Sky Falls was told on Julie’s point of view. It was mostly set on one night: the Mid-Summer Mardi Gras, where Julie met Miles – the one she spent the magical night of Mid-Summer Mardi Gras with. A love story was where the story was focused but it also tackled teenagers’ way of coping with their personal problems and mental health.

 

I enjoyed reading this book, it was fun but it was not really overall good.

 

I didn’t like the female main character. She’s the kind who I found very hard to comprehend and like in the very beginning and I miserably failed on each attempts to like her until the very end. I felt like she’s just a weakly written character and she just didn’t have something to make a reader connect with her.

 

Miles – Julie’s love interest – never failed on making me feel giddy. His character was pretty well written. He’s so good on making my heart leap because he’s always making me swoon. It was a really good thing that his character existed because I am not quite sure if I’ll enjoy this if there was just Julie’s character in it. I just really do not like the fmc.

 

Though I always say that I do not like it when two characters will see each other for the first time and they will suddenly like each other on an instant, this book was different. I do not know how it happened but in Julie and Miles’ case, I totally did not dislike it. It was like:

 

Julie & Miles: Okay, we just met. You’re interesting. Let’s get to know each other more and just enjoy the night. *later on, as the night goes deeper they’re already developing feelings for each other*

 

Me: Oh! Good. Just go on *eats popcorn* continue making me feel jealous because you’re so perfect for each other and you make finding your perfect lover look easy when it’s actually not.

 

I like them combined because they’re both imperfect with their own troubles in life but they’re perfect together. Though I honestly came to a point where I found it really ridiculous for them to feel something towards each other just because of one magical night. But what can I do? I can’t blame Julie because I liked Miles either. But if we’re going to think of it realistically, this is really ridiculous and unbelievable.

 

A mental issue was also tackled. I liked this part but I was also left hanging with this one. Julie’s older brother Adam went to become a soldier and when he came back, he’s just not the same Adam anymore which truly bothered and affected Julie because they were both very close before. That was also the reason why Julie got to this cell group and eventually ended up on the Mid-Summer Mardi Gras. Adam had PTSD or Post-traumatic Stress Disorder and that part of the book – Adam’s story – was what I’ve been always waiting for because some chapters were just solely dedicated to Adam’s story when he came back home from the war and why it affected Julie that much while the other chapters were set on the present where Julie was in the Mid-Summer Mardi Gras together with Miles, her love interest. I was a little bit unsatisfied but not in that negative way (does that makes sense?) it’s just that I enjoyed reading these parts about Adam and how he changed when he came back. I wanted to know more about his experience and him having PTSD. I wanted more because it honestly felt like Adam was my own brother. Miss Garcia did a great job on making me feel that way. The representation of the said mental condition was good but there could just be more with it.

 

The best part I like about this book was how magical it was. The atmosphere was just incredible. It was magical and truly fascinating. It is the kind of book that will make us remember how one magical night can change everything. The setting and the vibes it gives is really not one to miss. And if you’re finding novels with poetry inside, you should also check this one. There were poems inside the book and I truly liked most of them. In fact, there’s one which is my favorite from them and it was entitled Here’s to Remembering. The poems mostly served as a break from the two stories being told: present (Mid-Summer Mardi Gras) and past (Adam’s story).

 

There’s a part of me that really liked the end but there’s also a part that does not. I was not satisfied and satisfied at the same time because I loved how Julie and Miles made me feel giddy one last time. It was like making me fall in love all over again. But I was just also hoping more from Adam’s case and his mental condition. I was really left hanging on that part.

 

The writing style failed to impress me because there were a couple of times where I felt like it was flat and the story was just dragging. But on the other hand, Mia Garcia was good on making me feel everything the characters inside the book were feeling.

 

Overall, I still truly enjoyed the story despite of the few things that I didn’t like. It was a quick heart-warming read that has an atmospheric setting you wouldn’t really want to miss, lovable male main character and a little dark touch from the mental issue tackled. It’s perfect for those who want to read a quick contemporary novel to temporarily escape from reality.

 

“I’m not judging you, but you were just one night, Julie, and that night is over.”

afire-pages-rating

3-flowers

afire-pages-about-the-author
download (1).pngM. García was born and raised in San Juan, Puerto Rico. She moved to New York where she studied creative writing at The New School, worked in publishing, and now lives under a pile of to-be-read books. Her debut novel, Even If the Sky Falls, from Katherine Tegen books (an imprint of Harper Collins) is out now!

 

Find her on:

WebsiteTwitterInstagram

 

afire-pages-purchase-here

*A huge thanks to the author for providing me a finished copy in exchange of an honest book review. The book received by any means didn’t affect nor influence my review.

sign

2 thoughts on “Even If The Sky Falls by Mia Garcia

Leave a Reply

