realistic fiction · YA Contemporary · Young Adult

Girl In Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow

29236380.jpgISBN:

Title: Girl In Pieces

Author: Kathleen Glasgow

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Publishing Date: August 30th, 2016

Format: Paperback

Number of Pages: 416

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Realistic Fiction

afire-pages-summaryCharlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people lose in a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget. The broken glass washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don’t have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you.

Every new scar hardens Charlie’s heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge.afire-pages-book-reviewsBefore Charlotte Davis or simply called as Charlie was found naked and covered with not just only a blanket but also her own blood at the front of a hospital and was sent to a psych ward after, she was once a homeless. She wasn’t born homeless but life happens and there she was. Homeless with nothing but two drug addict boys who saved her once from a man who assaulted her on the underpass and also eventually became her friends. That place – the psych ward – is a place for girls who did self-harm. Girls who are in pieces just like Charlie.

Girl In Pieces was written on Charlie’s point of view and was parted on three parts. The story started when Charlie was still on the psych ward, recovering. And went on until she was already out of it and recovering all by herself.

Reading the first page, I got scared on what message this book will give and what kind of story it will tell. It was just too strong and I felt every words sink deeply inside me. And no more than 10 pages in – when I was already comprehending things and the circumstances of Charlie’s life – I immediately got connected. It wasn’t just the beautiful writing of Kathleen Glasgow but it was also the voice of the character that deeply pulled me in.

Charlie Davis, a girl in pieces. It didn’t take me a while to like her. I just liked her immediately. I loved how her character was made. She was just so real. A perfect character for what she was portraying. Charlie – together with the others in the psych ward – is a girl who has been THROUGH A LOT. Before she even got to this worst part of her life, things have never even got good or better before. It was just always bad or worse. So this completely says a lot on what she had become. Charlie became a self-harmer. She cuts herself. She makes herself bleed. She hurts herself. Just to ease the pain. Just to feel better. Ironic, right? But that’s the thing you need to understand about cutters. You need to understand what cutting means to them. Why cutting became their life. Why by hurting themselves, they feel better. And these questions were all answered by Charlie’s character. Charlie carries all the truth. Charlie shows us the truth. And it also really pains me a lot. Because Charlie needs more. She needs more than any of us. But she always asks for less. Or she let people think that she only needs less.

I fell in love with this book not just because it was beautifully written but also because it really has a story to tell. I felt everything, I was with Charlie. I felt myself  completely with her all throughout the story. I felt every pain, every weakness, every confusion, every struggle, everything. It is full of truths – ugly and painful truths – about life and living and dying even though you are still alive.

The only little thing I didn’t like at some point is the slow pacing. The pacing just got slow on the second part, though I can’t say that I was really affected because I was so attached to the book, enjoying the difference and similarities of the characters and so curious on where things will go but still, I noticed it. I wasn’t just that affected to the point of really disliking it.

The end was also beautiful. I don’t know how to say just how satisfied I was on that end.

This book is a strong, beautiful book about mental-illness, abuse, addiction, self-harming and recovery. Though because of how strong it is and even though I will definitely recommend this to those who are finding a great book about the things I just mentioned, I want to say that THIS IS NOT FOR EVERYONE. The book boldly speaks all about the truth and this book shows just a great story about the things I mentioned especially the people who self-harm and it was just too powerful, it triggers. This is just definitely TRIGGERING. The sexual assault, self-harming and addiction were elaborated. There are so many books I’ve read about the same issues but some of them doesn’t trigger something inside me or affect me just like Girl In Pieces did. It cuts deep through you and makes you remember the dark places you have been, the dark world you used to live in – because it did to me. So before reading this, I highly suggest that you think of yourself first. Because if you have a history of being sexually assaulted, being abused or self-harming and you are still in the process of recovering and healing, I don’t really think this is the right time, Take it from me, I was one of you.

Girl In Pieces is hunting, strong, beautiful and it cuts right through you. I recommend.

afire-pages-rating

4-flowers

afire-pages-about-the-author

13479611.jpg

Kathleen Glasgow lives in Tucson, Arizona. She likes Tyrion and Shireen, musty old paperbacks from used bookstores that have cats wandering the aisles, cheesecake, coffee, and the Isle of Skye.

Find her on:

WebsiteTwitter

afire-pages-purchase-here

Barnes & Noble | Amazon | Indiebound

*A huge thanks to the Penguin Random House International for providing me a finished copy in exchange of an honest book review. The copy received by any means didn’t affect nor influence my review.

sign

Leave a Reply

