contemporary · diverse reads · Glbt · Romance · Uncategorized · Young Adult

The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich

31145148ISBN:

Title: The Love Interest

Author: Cale Dietrich

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Publishing Date: May 16th, 2017

Format: ARC

Number of Pages: 384

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

afire-pages-summaryThere is a secret organization that cultivates teenage spies. The agents are called Love Interests because getting close to people destined for great power means getting valuable secrets.

Caden is a Nice: The boy next door, sculpted to physical perfection. Dylan is a Bad: The brooding, dark-souled guy, and dangerously handsome. The girl they are competing for is important to the organization, and each boy will pursue her. Will she choose a Nice or the Bad?

Both Caden and Dylan are living in the outside world for the first time. They are well-trained and at the top of their games. They have to be – whoever the girl doesn’t choose will die.

What the boys don’t expect are feelings that are outside of their training. Feelings that could kill them both. afire-pages-book-reviews

GUESS WHAT? GUESS WHAT? GUESS WHAT? I JUST FOUND MY FAVORITE READ OF 2017 SO FAR!

The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich is an enthralling, unique, excellently written masterpiece I haven’t ever seen before. There are so many reasons to fall in love with this book and you guys should not hesitate any longer and should just grab and read it right away.

First, I want to say just how unique the concept of this book really is. Using love to gain information and sell them to people who can use it to destroy others – especially those who are important in the society? And using two persons that will compete for that important person’s heart – called as Chosen – where you will use whoever wins to spy and give you the information you are going to sell? How cool is that? The Love Interest Company or LIC is not your ordinary spy organization. Many – including me – will find it sad and really disappointing for love to be used in such way but these people from the LIC probably knows more about love than you. Because they know the importance. They know what love can do. That’s why they came up with this idea. Though there’s no doubt how heartless the founders of LIC are because they’re using people and their feelings as a business. But still, it’s really unique and I haven’t really seen a book with the same idea or idea even just slightly close to this ever before and that alone already earned points from me.

The Love Interest surprised me on the very first page. I was like

“Whoever this man is, HE’S FREAKING HOT.”

tumblr_lw0gpy8oq81r23tzz

and

giphy2

some more on the next pages. I find this book really entertaining. Like NO DOUBT ENTERTAINING.  I must say, the moment I’ve read the first word, I was already suddenly pulled inside of it. There’s magic in Cale Dietrich words that completely dragged me inside of this book at the very first page.

It’s not just the idea of LIC and Cale Dietrich’s words that really earned points from me right from the very beginning. It was also the LIC itself. The LIC was showcased right from the very first page. From their facilities, machinery and how it functions – they’re changing a Love Interest’s appearance – their eyes, their nose, even if their private parts, they can change it according to the type of the Chosen, they’re erasing memory – if you lose it’s either you’ll die or be assigned into another role but they’ll erase your memory first and there are Stalkers – killing robots – that will crash you into pieces if you lose. Whoever wins the heart of the Chosen will continue to live – as a spy – and the loser will probably die. These are just some of the reasons why the LIC – for me – is just truly impressive.

 

It was written on Caden’s – a Nice and one of the main characters – point of view. And it was parted on three parts; The Love Interest, The Antagonist and The Protagonist.

The characters were just unique, very human-like, so interesting and convincing. The two main male characters Caden and Dylan were actually enough to prove the awesomeness of this book. Caden is a Nice while Dylan is a Bad. Caden, despite of being a Nice – which means he’s literally nice and playing the nice role in front of the Chosen – shows badness in his character right from the very beginning. And that already stirred intrigue and amusement in me. And so does Dylan who is a Bad – which means he is literally bad and playing the bad role in front of the Chosen – shows goodness in his character. Dylan’s character was just really surprising and it scared me on the very beginning, thinking of how in love I might be with this guy. He’s just dangerously handsome and kind. He’s a Bad, that’s what people know but seeing him deep inside will make you think that maybe he and Caden should switch roles. While on the other hand, Julie – the Chosen, the one Caden and Dylan is competing for – is just the type of character I really thought on the beginning as just another typical in-the-middle-of-the-love-triangle-feeling-special kind of girl but she’s actually really not. She kept on surprising me in the middle of the run. Her decisions and how she handled situations made her different from any other female characters that are in the middle of a love triangle. The Love Interest has strong, real, ultimately likable and complex characters. The Love Interest shows that even if there’s so much kindness in you, there is and there will always be bad inside of you and no matter how much badness you have inside of you, there is and there will always be a good inside of you. The character developments of them were also ON POINT. And even though I felt like I already know the characters, they never failed on surprising me because of the unpredictability they all posses.

The Love Interest is sexually diverse. And it’s actually one of the things I wasn’t expecting AT ALL. I love it because I find it fun for I had these suspicions on the start. I was like “What if **** is gay?” “I’m pretty sure he is. But… is he trying to hide it or is he in some sort of in denial?” “When will he acknowledge it?” “WHAT WILL HAPPEN?” You will actually not see it coming if you are not paying that attention to the characters. And I love the pairings of the characters. It has a very swoon-worthy love teams from the Love Interests and the Chosen to their friends. It was actually unpredictable in the very beginning, who will end up with whom? That’s one of the questions you need to figure out.

I also like the fact that it was a fast-paced read. Though I also hate it because even though it was almost 400 pages, it felt like it wasn’t. An almost 400 pages book normally bores the hell out of me. But this book? It entertained me from page 1 up to page 373. I even began to feel like my need for The Love Interest is already insatiable. I am still aching for more even though I know that what Mr. Cale Dietrich wrote was actually already enough.

The Love Interest is definitely the kind of book where you’ll get more than what you have signed up for. Cale Dietrich just has a unique approach in almost everything in this book. I didn’t see most of the things coming. And it exceeded my overall expectations.

The reason why I am not giving this book a 5 stars rating even though I truly love it is because of the end and the only expectation it failed to exceed. Don’t think that the end is not good because it’s still good. It’s just that the satisfaction I got was just lesser than what I was expecting. I was fully satisfied right from the very beginning all throughout until before the end. I don’t know but there really could just be more on that end. It felt like it wasn’t handled as well as the whole story was handled. It really could have been better. And the only expectation it failed to exceed is the expectation I have because of its tagline. “Love kills”, it said. It made me expect for some bad-ass-in-a-way-of-containing-so-much-action kind of book. I mean, I thought that there will be unique guns and other extra-ordinary things spies usually use. But there were actually parts that action scenes happened and there were high-tech gadgets/machines, it just that it really made me expect more.

To describe the ride as a whole, this word is what comes first into my mind; FULFILLING.

Lastly, what I am REALLY trying to say is that READ THE LOVE INTEREST BY CALE DIETRICH BECAUSE IT’S ONE OF THE BEST DEBUT NOVELS OF 2017.

afire-pages-rating

4.5 flowers

afire-pages-about-the-author

14541076

Find him on:

GoodreadsTwitter

afire-pages-purchase-here

Barnes & Noble | Amazon

*A huge thanks to the MacMillan International for providing me an ARC in exchange of an honest review. The copy received by any means didn’t affect nor influence my review.
7 thoughts on “The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich

  1. What a splendid review, Karina! I loved this review immediately after I saw that you said you’ve found the best read of 2017 in the beginning! LOL I’m really intrigued by the story*cough*cover*cough* and thanks to you, I know more about the plot now! Despite the ending that let you down a little bit, I think I’ll still give it a try because why not? Anyway, great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww! Jaaaas! Thank you so much! Oh PLEASE do give this a try! Even though it kind of let me down on the end, the whole story is still great! 😚 I can’t wait to read your thoughts! Hope you’ll read it soon. Maybe after ACOWAR? Will you read ACOWAR right after you finished reading THUG? ☺

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

