Flawed by Cecelia Ahern

 

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

23438288.jpgISBN: 978-1-250-09829-0

Title: Flawed #1

Series: Flawed

Author: Cecelia Ahern

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Publishing Date: April 5th 2016

Format: Paperback

Number of Pages: 324

Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopian

PicsArt_06-04-01.23.21.jpgYou will be punished…

Celestine North lives a perfect life. She’s a model daughter and sister, she’s well-liked by her classmates and teachers, and she’s dating the impossibly charming Art Crevan.

But then Celestine encounters a situation where she makes an instinctive decision. She breaks a rule and now faces life-changing repercussions. She could be imprisoned. She could be branded. She could be found flawed.

In her breathtaking young adult debut, bestselling author Cecelia Ahern depicts a society where perfection is paramount and flaws lead to punishment. And where one young woman decides to take a stand that could cost her everything.

PicsArt_06-04-01.28.54.jpgFlawed is the first book in the Flawed duology by Cecelia Ahern. It is written on Celestine’s point of view.

 

Flawed explores a society where perfection is a must and imperfections are highly discouraged. Their country went through a huge economic crisis tons of years ago and it was believed that it was because of the bad judgments or decisions of their leaders that had lead them there. So their government had to come up with a solution and that solution was The Guild. The Guild is a committee set up as a temporary solution – which eventually became permanent – by the government as a public inquiry into wrongdoing that oversees the inquisition of individuals accused of being Flawed. Flawed people are the ones whom they believe as the people who make immoral actions and bad judgments, people that are not capable of taking important roles in their society.  People that were found and proven as Flawed were seared to their skins with the F brand depending on their error of judgment. They were ousted and treated as second-class citizens. They were not allowed to take an important job or role in their society. And Perfect people see them as disgusting, dangerous humans. It draws a thick line between imperfect and perfect people.

 

This book LITERALLY made me:

gsp

you-still-cant-really-breathe

tenor

giphy3

http3a2f2fmashable-com2fwp-content2fuploads2f20132f062fglee

 

Meet Celestine North. Our heroine. She’s intelligent, logical, loyal, brave and compassionate. She is very human, despite having such good characteristics, she is also very flawed and she’s the type who’s always standing out without even trying even if she doesn’t want to. Her character development was on point. On the beginning, she was just the perfect girl. The ideal girl. The girl who is always doing the right thing. The girl who’s always following rules. Then as the story goes on she became the opposite of what she once was. She started fighting, breaking rules but for the good reasons. She became brave. The kind of brave I whole heartedly commend. Celestine North is one of those heroines I loved and earned my respect from the very beginning until the very end. She’s a commendable and inspiring one.

 

The first thing I fell in love with is the tale this book tells. I was blown from the very beginning. I was shocked by how things were happening, by how the tables were turning JUST FEW CHAPTERS AWAY FROM THE VERY BEGINNING. I was impressed right away while starting to realize what the story will be about. It was the development of characters’ relationship with each other that got me “WOAH HOLD ON. I DIDN’T SEE THAT COMING”. The events in the very beginning really caught my interest. Those were just SO SURPRISING.

 

tenor2

 

I felt my heart hammering, my emotions rising most of the time. This book just never failed to keep me intrigued and excited, waiting for another thing to happen. There was mostly scenes that will make you grip the edge of your seat. And there were some lines from the characters that were just so intense and too powerful to handle I was like;

 

tenor1

 

The book’s topic is just so important and will never get old making me feel like it is my very own story. That’s the main reason why I felt emotionally attached in this book. It’s about humans. It’s about us. It’s about answering the questions “Do my mistakes dictate my worth?” “Does my being imperfect make me less of a human?” “Do my bad decisions in life make me less important?” “Should we not make mistakes?” “Are imperfect and the so-called-perfect persons couldn’t be treated as equals?” “Should I be fake but perfect or real but flawed?”

 

The story didn’t just revolve in a love story. In fact, it was hardly tackled. It focused on a girl who opened opportunities for people to speak up and wake up from the injustice that’s happening in their country. This girl, Celestine, just set the sparks that will sooner become flame.

 

Despite being entitled as Flawed, I nearly did not see any flaw. It succeeded on keeping me interested, impressed and barely breathing from the very beginning up until the end.

 

Getting near to the end, I actually felt a bit disappointed because I was feeling that things were leading to something unsatisfying or maybe even a cliffhanger – which is actually better than my first guess. But it didn’t. The end actually was just simple and in fact, definitely cliché but not disappointing. It was still satisfying and makes the reader really intrigued and excited for the next installment.

 

I love Cecelia Ahern’s writing style. There’s just something into it that made this book an easy and fast read. Her words consumed me. The moment I dive in, my real world blurred, I was completely transported inside of its world. Now I think I understand why her books are popular and award-winning.

 

My problems were that I felt everything happened way too fast in the beginning. It went straight to the point where the story will focus, which should be okay if I was given enough background to believe it. After a few opening chapters, we immediately went to the conflict. I just can’t connect at first because I felt like I needed more background or support for the rising conflict to be able to truly understand why it was happening and make it sound believable to me. And although I knew Celestine as a logical person the whole story, there were times where I can’t help but question her being logical. Given the logical she is, there was still an obvious thing she failed to see which plays a very huge and important role in the story that just made me want to yell at her. Those cliché scenes where things are already obvious but the protagonists still fail to see it? That happens most of the time in movies and television and that happened here too.

 

Flawed by Cecelia Ahern despite having quite a few flaws still definitely lived up to my expectations. It has a very important topic, easy read, characters that felt just so real and will definitely give you an extreme roller coaster ride of emotions. It is a book I’ll definitely want to re-read in the future.

 

Want to explore a society where there is a thick line between flawed and perfect? Where imperfections are highly unacceptable? If your answer is yes, then definitely, Flawed by Cecelia Ahern is for you! I highly recommend.

PicsArt_06-04-01.31.07.jpg

4-flowers

PicsArt_06-04-01.35.47

7116.jpgCecelia Ahern was born and grew up in Dublin. She is now published in nearly fifty countries, and has sold over twenty-five million copies of her novels worldwide. Two of her books have been adapted as films and she has created several TV series.

Find her on:

WebsiteTwitter

 

PicsArt_06-04-01.38.37

Barnes & Noble | Amazon

*A huge thanks to MacMillan International Sales for providing me a finished copy in exchange of an honest review. The copy by any means didn’t affect nor influence my review.

18 thoughts on “Flawed by Cecelia Ahern

    1. Yay! Yes please, Ate Claire! I want to know your thoughts after. 😍 And thank you, Ate Claire! 😘😘😘

      PS.
      Pls let me know when you’re already reading Flawed.

      Like

      1. Ugh I can definitely feel you! Sometimes there are books that I really want to read but I always end up setting them aside because review copies needs to be prioritized first so I won’t have any *pressuring* responsibilities anymore. 🙈😂

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t tried listening to an audiobook before. 😂 But I want to experience it. Yay! Thank you Kai. I really hope you’ll like it too. I’m nervous because you said it didn’t catch your interest. But I’m also glad that you’re going to try again. 😊💕 Will you read it this time or listen again?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ohh, so you really preferred audiobooks. 😁 Is it okay if I ask you to recommend some to me? I want my first try to be really good.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Sure! Erm… give me a second I need to think… Well, the Harry Potter audiobooks are really good, also I adore the How to Train Your Dragon ones (they’re read by David Tennent!), argh I can’t really think of anymore off the top of my head atm.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Oh em. You’re right! I haven’t thought of HP audiobooks. Thanks for the rec and also for making me remember Kai. I think it would be great for my first audiobook to be Harry Potter. I’ll listen to that first. I loved HTTYD movie! 😂 I’ll listen to that too. Thanks again, Kai! I trust your taste. 😉❤

        Liked by 1 person

  1. KAREN!! The only long book reviews that I read is yours because, WHY THE HELL NOT? You managed to entertain me from start ’til end! You go girl! I know how much you loved this one! Thanks for your recommendation

    Liked by 1 person

    1. EYEEEEEEE!!! OMG 😭 Thank you!!! Is this real? I know you really don’t read long reviews that much and you’re making me kilig hahahhahaja. You’re also the one who writes short and excellent reviews I always love to read! 💖 Yay! You’re welcome. Hope we both discover a new book to love and cry for soon! 😆😘

      Like

Leave a Reply

