The Color Project by Sierra Abrams

The Color Project by Sierra Abrams review.png

22892448ISBN: 161984625X

Title: The Color Project

Series: —-

Author: Sierra Abrams

Publisher: Gatekeeper Press

Publishing Date: August 17th 2017

Format: eARC

Number of Pages:

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary, Romance

picsart_10-17-10.23.40.jpg

Bernice Aurora Wescott has one thing she doesn’t want anyone to know: her name. That is, until Bee meets Levi, the local golden boy who runs a charity organization called The Color Project.

Levi is not at all shy about attempting to guess Bee’s real name; his persistence is one of the many reasons why Bee falls for him. But while Levi is everything she never knew she needed, giving up her name would feel like a stamp on forever. And that terrifies her.

When unexpected news of an illness in the family drains Bee’s summer of everything bright, she is pushed to the breaking point. Losing herself in The Color Project—a world of weddings, funerals, cancer patients, and hopeful families that the charity funds—is no longer enough. Bee must hold up the weight of her family, but to do that, she needs Levi. She’ll have to give up her name and let him in completely or lose the best thing that’s ever happened to her.

For fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson, THE COLOR PROJECT is a story about the three great loves of life—family, friendship, and romance—and the bonds that withstand tragedy.

PicsArt_10-17-10.29.10

**I want to thank the author, Miss Sierra Abrams, in providing me an eARC in exchange of an honest review. This, by any means, did not affect nor influence my review.**

Summer.

Charity.

Flowers.

Donuts.

“Who said you aren’t allowed to be lost every once in a while? I love you, lost or found.”

This book made my heart swell for the most part but made my eyes roll heavenwards in the later part, still, I find this really entertaining. It is light and fun but also has a deep side.

What I loved the most is the narration of our main character, Bee. Bee is an entertaining story teller and I loved how she threw some humor to the side. Bee’s narration is one of the reasons why this book became really entertaining that kept me on turning its pages from the beginning.

Bee, although I loved her humor, how thoughtful, helpful, caring and good story teller she is, I didn’t like her completely especially on the later part. She became irritating for me at certain point. I understood what she’s going through but it became hard for me to understand her eventually since she was slowly becoming unreasonable. Also, I wish I was able to see the bookworm side of her instead of just saying that she loves to read.

Levi is everything. He is not “perfect” in a way that you cannot say anything bad or negative about his life and his being, but he’s perfect in a way that he has a pure heart, he is such a good person and he is sweet and will never make you feel unloved or not special. He’s just so good and cool that I enjoyed imagining what life would be if I’ll be in a relationship with such a person in real life while reading this.

THERE IS A CHEMISTRY. Like real chemistry between Levi and Bee that just made me giddy and swooning for like 75% of this book. Following the narration, this is the second thing I loved most.

Plot-wise, there was not much twist and turns and in fact, it’s predictable but that fact was just so easy to set aside due to Bee’s narration and of course, Levi’s existence.

Thing You Should Know Why I Took Off a Star #218:

Although this is mostly light and fun, it also talks about broken family and death but I wish it was given more spotlight in the story instead of just introducing these serious and deep issues in the latter part.

Thing You Should Know Why I Took Off a Star #11:

Insta-crush. There is no explanation needed here. I just don’t like insta-crush. Period.

Thing You Should Know Why I Took Off a Star #68:

I honestly thought I will be able to finish this fast because of how much I was enjoying and fast I was turning the pages, but then, because of how long it is, my pace eventually slowed and it felt like dragging in the middle part. It could have been just 300+ pages long instead of 400+.

Thing You Should Know Why I Took Off a Star #528:

Too-much-kissing. I mean, it’s not a bad thing, I know some people enjoy reading kissing scenes and I also like them sometimes but I just couldn’t take how frequent they were. When Levi and Bee finally became together, they started kissing twice or more – because I’m pretty sure NOT ONLY ONCE – in EACH chapter. I mean, I just don’t have time to read how they kiss in different places and different moments all over again in every chapter.

Thing You Should Know Why I Took Off a Star #39:

“I’m in love with Bee. It takes me completely by surprise. I know we love each other like friends do—best friends, inseparable.”

Levi and Bee are already TOGETHER – there’s even too-much-kissing already happening – when Bee dropped this line. I mean, what the hell does this supposed to mean? “Best friends”???

download

Thing You Should Know Why I Took Off a Star #189:

“You beg me for my name for months, but you won’t tell me something as simple as your birthday?”

I was so DISAPPOINTED by how childish they turned out to be in handling their relationship nearing to the end. They sounded like kids and they were just so unexpectedly immature, especially Bee. Their arguments became exasperating to read. I honestly considered DNF-ing this just because of how irritated I was with Bee. Like, she just kept on making things worse for them when she could do the opposite – yeah, I know, she’s having a hard time but still – and I didn’t know where she’s coming from anymore. Every line she’s dropping and I only had one expression:

baby-god-leonardo-dicaprio-love-Favim.com-807795

If it weren’t for these, I would have probably give this a 5 stars rating.

Overall, The Color Project is such a fun, colorful, flowery, cheesy, glittery, semi-deep read. Although I did not like everything about it unlike what I actually thought will happen, I still enjoyed this very much. This is one of the very few romance heavy contemporaries I enjoyed. If you are bored and want something to cheer you up, then you should pick this up.PicsArt_10-17-10.27.50

4-flowers

PicsArt_10-23-12.34.48

sierra abramAt 7 years old, Sierra Abrams decided that one day she would publish a book. For over a decade, in between exploring other career options, she kept coming back to that very first dream. Now her life consists of writing books of all kinds… Kissing books, angsty books, killing books, whimsical books, and sometimes books that are all of the above. When she’s not writing, you can find her reading, traveling, consuming sushi, or daydreaming about Henry Cavill.

Find her on:

Website | Twitter | GoodreadsPicsArt_10-26-08.02.43

Amazon | Barnes and Noble


Have you read The Color Project? What did you like and dislike about it? Share your thoughts below!

PicsArt_10-17-10.34.21


2 thoughts on “The Color Project by Sierra Abrams

  1. Hmm I’d been curious about this book since it was hyped up so much when it was released. I’m glad to hear it was a cute story though all of the negatives you pointed out are things I usually can’t stand. I loathe insta-crush in books and ones that end up long because of fluff or excessive love scenes. I’ll keep these things in mind whenever I do read the book, though, thank you for the detailed review!

    Like

    1. Indeed. The hype was crazy back then. I do hope you’ll be able to read this soon, Jamie! I would love to discuss it with you once you did. I want to know what will you think about it. Happy reading! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s