BLOG TOUR: Crier’s War by Nina Varela | 21 Questions with Nina Varela + GIVEAWAY!

PicsArt_09-23-07.43.38.jpg

WELCOME TO THE CRIER’S WAR BLOG TOUR hosted by yours truly, in partnership with HarperCollins International!

Follow the tour to know what bloggers think about the book, see creative contents, and win a copy!

ISBN: 0062823965

Title: Crier’s War

Series: Crier’s War, #1

Author: Nina Valera

Publisher: HarperTeen

Publishing Date: October 1st 2019

Pages: 448

Age Category & Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Purchase here: Amazon | Barnes and Noble

Synopsis: From debut author Nina Varela comes the first book in an Own Voices, richly imagined epic fantasy about an impossible love between two girls—one human, one Made—whose romance could be the beginning of a revolution.

Perfect for fans of Marie Rutkoski’s The Winner’s Curse as well as Game of Thrones and Westworld.

After the War of Kinds ravaged the kingdom of Rabu, the Automae, designed to be the playthings of royals, usurped their owners’ estates and bent the human race to their will.Now Ayla, a human servant rising in the ranks at the House of the Sovereign, dreams of avenging her family’s death…by killing the sovereign’s daughter, Lady Crier.

Crier was Made to be beautiful, flawless, and to carry on her father’s legacy. But that was before her betrothal to the enigmatic Scyre Kinok, before she discovered her father isn’t the benevolent king she once admired, and most importantly, before she met Ayla.

Now, with growing human unrest across the land, pressures from a foreign queen, and an evil new leader on the rise, Crier and Ayla find there may be only one path to love: war.

21 Questions with Nina Varela

Hi, chums! Welcome to “21 Questions with Nina Varela”! (I suck at coming up with creative title so dOn’T jUdGe mE lol)

I know, I know. The blog banner says that there will be a review, and I always post my review on my blog tours’ launch. But life happened and there will be no review *yet* for today. *sobs in the corner* Don’t worry, I have an equally a more interesting content for y’all today!

Initially, I wanted to do my own interview with Nina Varela. However, I also wanted to do something new that will require my co-bloggers’ participation. So I, together with the other 20 incredible participants of the Crier’s War blog tour, asked Nina Varela a question each. These 21 questions are random (ranges from GoT, Marvel, gay ships, life, Westworld and more) and only requires short and quick answers from Nina Varela with no explanations. In other words, you can think of this as a “Fast Talk with Boy Abunda” type of game.

So, without further a do, let’s get to know her more in 21 Questions with Nina Varela!

Q1. If you’ll give Daenerys Targaryen from Game of Thrones one advise right on the 1st season, seeing how the series went, what would that be?

NINA VARELA: As queen JoJo said, “Get out. Leave. Right now.”

Q2. What is your no. 1 f/f OTP?

NINA VARELA: KORRASAMI!

Q3. What song would you choose as the ultimate theme song for Crier’s War?

NINA VARELA: “Warrior” by Chloe x Halle.

Q4. What are your top 3 YA f/f high fantasy novels?

NINA VARELA: YA high fantasy… The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet by Becky Chambers, The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie, and I haven’t finished Girls of Paper and Fire by Natasha Ngan but I’m loving it. Do all those count as high fantasy? I’m never sure.

Q5. If you could say anything to one person, what would you say?

NINA VARELA: This is so hard. I tried to think of something profound but really I’d just tell Finn from STAR WARS that I love him and he’s doing great.

Q6. If you could make one Sapphic ship in the Marvel Cinematic Universe happen, what would your choice be?

NINA VARELA: I mean, it’s basically already canon, but I’ll go with Carol x Maria from Captain Marvel. I’d love to see it actually confirmed onscreen! @ Marvel—do it, you cowards!

Q7. If you had the chance to clone yourself into one of the hosts in Westworld, would you?

NINA VARELA: Oh no. The whole Groundhog Day setup, playing out the exact same day over and over again? No way. I already did high school once. I’d lose my mind. Even if I got to wear a cowboy outfit.

Q8. Feline or canine superhero companion?

NINA VARELA: Canine! Though my dog would make a terrible superhero companion. She’s tiny and has no morals.

Q9. Which fictional character is not canonically gay but you know is gay anyways?

NINA VARELA: I will die on the Bisexual Steve Rogers hill. Also, Ms. Frizzle was clearly a lesbian.

Q10. Who is your favorite w|w character in any medium?

NINA VARELA: I’m barely thirty pages into Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir and like, it’s already Gideon.

Q11. Do you have a favorite drink or snack while reading?

NINA VARELA: Coffee. It’s so bad. A quintuple-shot latte is like a drop in the bucket at this point. Every barista within a five mile radius of my house knows my face and my usual order.

Q12. What is one piece of advice you would give your younger self?

NINA VARELA: Be kind to yourself. Keep going—keep writing, but mostly keep going. Some things won’t get easier but a lot of things will. Go to therapy.

Q13. Do you have or plan on getting any quote tattoos? If so, what would the quote(s) be?

NINA VARELA: I have one already—“you never shine / if you never burn.” It’s a lyric from “Battle Born” by The Killers. I’m sure I’ll get another at some point. Probably some lines of poetry.

Q14. What 3 YA protagonists would you choose to have on your zombie apocalypse team?

NINA VARELA: Katniss from The Hunger Games, Inej from Six of Crows, and Zafira from We Hunt The Flame. We are making it out of this thing.

Q15. What are 3 movies that have had a significant impact on your life?

NINA VARELA: Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind (my favorite movie of all time), Captain America: The Winter Soldier (it was the first movie my best friend and I really bonded over), and The Lord of the Rings trilogy (my mom and I have marathoned it every single year for the past decade).

Q16. What would your supervillain name and power be?

NINA VARELA: Envy. Like NV. And I’d be able to subtly manipulate or influence people’s emotions and desires. Nothing destructive, but I’d be able to con my way into a bank real easy.

Q17. Crier’s War seems to be of the Science Fiction genre – speculative fiction with elements from both Science Fiction and Fantasy. Is it, and what was your inspiration from combining traditional fantasy elements with sci-fi ones?

NINA VARELA: It definitely came from the process of designing the Automae. I wanted a story about androids, but I didn’t want it to be in a futuristic, Year 3000, full-on sci-fi setting; I wanted it to feel sort of timeless in the way of fairy tales. So I had to invent a different type of android, and I landed on: “What if alchemists were successful in creating human life?” Like a homonculus, but, you know, not tiny and elfin. Once I decided on alchemy as the thread of magick in this world, everything else—how the Automae were created, how they derive power from what is essentially a mass-produced Philosopher’s Stone, how science and magick interact—came pretty intuitively.

Q18. What are the three words that would best describe your next book?

NINA VARELA: 3 words to describe my next book (IRON HEART, sequel to CRIER’S WAR): Growth, rescue, fire

Q19. What does rebellion mean to you?

NINA VARELA: Recognizing and dismantling harmful power systems on every level. If you’re asking “Who is in power? Who benefits from that power? Who is supporting the status quo politically and financially? Who is creating and enforcing the law? Who controls the majority of wealth? Who is getting the most opportunities?” and the answer is “Pretty much just the one type of person,” there’s something deeply wrong and it’s time to burn the existing power systems to the ground. (And to achieve that, the people who benefit most from those systems need to be right there on the front line lighting a match.)

Q20. Down in the depths of the ocean lies a treasure coveted by all mortals. What is down there and why is it so hard to find?!

NINA VARELA: The Popeyes chicken sandwich. They ran out of buns.

Q21. What do you surround yourself with that brings you joy?

NINA VARELA: My friends. I am immeasurably grateful to be surrounded by a group of people with so many different interests and passions, who are walking so many different paths, who all love and support each other unconditionally. Every time we’re together I end up in tears from laughing so hard. I love thinking about the projects they’re working on because they’ve all got so much glow in their futures. There’s never any competition or negativity between us, it’s just big open love. I’m very, very lucky.

KARINA: That’s it! Thank you for answering our questions, Nina! I hope you had fun. ❤

NINA  VARELA: THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR HAVING ME! I’m so excited about this tour. <3333

IMG_20190326_134427.jpg

18450258 (1).jpg

Nina Varela is a nationally awarded writer of screenplays and short fiction. She was born in New Orleans and raised on a hippie commune in Durham, North Carolina, where she spent most of her childhood playing in the Eno River, building faerie houses from moss and bark, and running barefoot through the woods. These days, Nina lives in Los Angeles with her writing partner and their tiny, ill-behaved dog. She tends to write stories about hard-won love and young people toppling the monarchy/patriarchy/whatever-archy. On a related note, she’s queer. On a less related note, she has strong feelings about hushpuppies and loves a good jambalaya. CRIER’S WAR is her first novel.

You can find Nina at any given coffee shop in the greater Los Angeles area, or at www.ninavarela.com

TOUR SCHEDULE

WEEK 1

Sept. 23 – Afire Pages | 21 Questions with Nina Varela

Sept. 24 – The Sparrow’s Perch | Fan Art
F A N N A | Reasons for Game of Thrones and Westworld Fans to Read Crier’s War

Sept. 25 – Forever and Everly
Your Tita Kate | Bookstagram Photos

Sept. 26 – Lori’s Bookshelf Reads 
Pages Left Unread | Characters Aesthetics

Sept. 27 – Caitlin Althea 
Pages Below the Vaulted Sky | Fan Art

Sept. 28 – Lauren’s Bookshelf
Reads Rainbow | Playlist

WEEK 2

Sept. 30 – Boricua Reads | Sapphic Rebellious Women in YA
Read With Ngoc 

Oct. 1 – Once Upon A Bookcase
Read at Night | Favorite Quotes

Oct. 2 – Mel to the Any
A Cat, A Book, and A Cup of Tea

Oct. 3 – Novel Nerd Faction | Playlist
Shut Up, Shealea

Oct. 4 – Sage Shelves | F/F Fantasy Recommendation
The Book Bratz

GIVEAWAY!

Enter below to win a copy of Crier’s War! This giveaway is open internationally until October 23rd.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

This giveaway is sponsored by HarperCollins International.

Have you read Crier’s War? Did you enjoy it? What’s your favorite f/f fantasy? Share your thoughts below!

IMG_20190325_001104.jpg

Advertisements

15 thoughts on “BLOG TOUR: Crier’s War by Nina Varela | 21 Questions with Nina Varela + GIVEAWAY!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s