BLOG TOUR: A Thousand Fires by Shannon Price | Cover Design Process + GIVEAWAY!

A Thousand Fires by Shannon Price Blog Tour Banner.png

WELCOME TO THE A THOUSAND FIRES BLOG TOUR hosted by yours truly with Karlita @ Tale Out Loud, in partnership with TOR Teen!

Follow the tour to know what bloggers think about the book, see creative contents, and win a copy!

heart_line_divider_by_kittiehcakes-d5ce90f

38595652._SY475_Title: A Thousand Fires

Author: Shannon Price

Publisher: TOR Teen

Publishing Date: November 5th 2019

Age Category & Genre: YA Contemporary, Retelling

Synopsis: Shannon Price’s A Thousand Fires is a breakout contemporary debut―think The Outsiders meets The Iliad―that’s perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Veronica Roth.

10 Years. 3 Gangs. 1 Girl’s Epic Quest…

An extraordinary debut set in an alternate San Francisco and inspired by The Iliad…

Valerie Simons knows the gangs are dangerous—her little brother was shot and killed by the Boars two years ago.

Still, nothing will sway Valerie from wanting to join the elite and beautiful Herons and find her brother’s killer. It doesn’t hurt that her best friend Matthew is slated to become a Heron leader—and she’d follow him to the ends of the earth.

Then Valerie is recruited by the mysterious Stags when their volatile, provocative, and beyond charismatic leader Jax promises to help her get revenge. Torn between old love and new loyalty, Valerie races to finish the mission that got her into the gangs.

But no one truly wins the Wars.

IMG_20190326_134427.jpg

Shannon Price

Shannon Price is a YA author living in the San Francisco Bay Area. After graduating from Santa Clara University with a degree in English, she interned and later worked for Counterpoint Press in Berkeley, CA. As a publicist at Counterpoint, she garnered coverage for her clients’ books in media outlets like the New York TimesWashington PostWall Street JournalEntertainment Weekly, and many more.

In 2014, she was accepted into the Scottish Universities’ International Summer School at the University of Edinburgh where she studied Creative Writing and Contemporary Literature under the tutelage of best-selling Irish writer Ruth Gilligan. In college, she worked as the Art Editor of the Santa Clara Review and represented the Review at AWP 2015 in Minneapolis, MN. She was a mentor in the second round of Author Mentor Match and regularly attends writing events around the Bay Area.

Find her on: Website Twitter | Instagram

heart_line_divider_by_kittiehcakes-d5ce90f

Hi, chums!

*squeals*

I am SO excited to share this welcome post for the A Thousand Fires blog tour. I have been trying my best to keep this as a secret for the past few days, that is why I am ecstatic that we can all finally share a minute or two to admire all these visuals we are about to share!

In case you missed it, I posted the With the Fire On High Cover Design Process for the With the Fire on High blog tour few months ago. And today, I have a similar content to share to y’all!

The Art Director of TOR, Peter Lutjen, wrote a piece telling what went through behind the cover design process of A Thousand Fires and shared with us an amazing bunch of behind-the-scene photos!

So, without further ado, here is the piece Mr. Lutjen have for us!

A Thousand Fires Cover Design Process

The creative brief for the cover called for a stag (representing the gang Valerie joins to avenge her brother’s death), illustrated as if it could be graffiti, with elements of San Francisco in the background. Our first round of sketches looked more appropriate for a graphic novel and didn’t capture the atmosphere we were going for.

We switched gears at that point, thinking we might have better luck with a photographic approach. We mocked up some ideas with stock images of graffiti and San Francisco:

This was better, but the stag still didn’t have the feel that we wanted, and the bridge felt out of place. Thinking we could combine some of the background stock photos we’d found with original illustration, we hired artist Greg Ruth, who delivered this beautiful piece:

ATF-GregRuth.jpg

We roughed it up a bit and tried it on a variety of backgrounds . . .

. . . and ultimately went back to a toned-down version of the graffiti from our second round of mockups.

38595652._SY475_

A Thousand Fires hc jacket.jpg

heart_line_divider_by_kittiehcakes-d5ce90f

TOUR SCHEDULE

A Thousand Fires Blog Tour Schedule.png

GIVEAWAY!

Enter below to win a copy of A Thousand Fires! This giveaway is open internationally and sponsored by TOR Teen.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

heart_line_divider_by_kittiehcakes-d5ce90f

Have you read A Thousand Fires? Did you enjoy it? What’s your favorite book about gang wars? Share your thoughts below!

IMG_20190325_001104.jpg

 


2 thoughts on “BLOG TOUR: A Thousand Fires by Shannon Price | Cover Design Process + GIVEAWAY!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s