BLOG TOUR: Loveboat, Taipei by Abigail Hing Wen | A Letter from Abigail Hing Wen + GIVEAWAY!

WELCOME TO THE LOVEBOAT, TAIPEI BLOG TOUR hosted by yours truly in partnership with HarperCollins International!

Follow the tour to know what bloggers think about the book, see creative contents, and win a copy!

Title: Loveboat, Taipei

Series: Loveboat, Taipei, #1

Author: Abigail Hing Wen

Publisher: HarperTeen

Publishing Date: January 7th, 2020

Pages: 432

Age Category & Genre: Young Adult Contemporary, Romance

Synopsis: For fans of Crazy Rich Asians or Jane Austen Comedy of Manners, with a hint of La La Land

When eighteen-year-old Ever Wong’s parents send her from Ohio to Taiwan to study Mandarin for the summer, she finds herself thrust among the very over-achieving kids her parents have always wanted her to be, including Rick Woo, the Yale-bound prodigy profiled in the Chinese newspapers since they were nine—and her parents’ yardstick for her never-measuring-up life.

Unbeknownst to her parents, however, the program is actually an infamous teen meet-market nicknamed Loveboat, where the kids are more into clubbing than calligraphy and drinking snake-blood sake than touring sacred shrines.

Free for the first time, Ever sets out to break all her parents’ uber-strict rules—but how far can she go before she breaks her own heart? 

IMG_20190326_134427.jpg
IMG_20191022_013316.jpg

Abigail Hing Wen is a Silicon Valley venture lawyer working with AI startups. She is a Vermont College of Fine Arts graduate, Wild Things blogger, and YA writer of her debut, Loveboat, Taipei.

Find her on: Website | Twitter

A Letter from Abigail Hing Wen

Dear Reader,

I still find it hard to believable my first novel comes out January 7 from HarperCollins. This has been a twelve-year dream in the making, and I couldn’t be more excited and grateful.

Loveboat, Taipei is a romp—a story of repressed teens gone wild, and of discovering one’s identity in all its facets. Between the pages of the book live and breathe a cast of over thirty Asian Americans. Though they share a cultural heritage and are from similarly high-achieving families, they are individuals—some funny, some quiet, some timid, some outrageous. But they are all diverse, all talented and all flawed in their own ways.

Jane Lee on my Harper team told me she’d read Loveboat, Taipei three times and had never felt so seen before. I almost cried, because that was exactly how I felt when I went on the Loveboat program (yes, it’s a real program!) myself. I wanted to capture some of that feeling in this novel and my hope is that you will find a measure of yourself in these thirty characters as well. I would love to see them in a movie and increase diversity and representation in Hollywood. As early readers, your help spreading the word for the book is so important and I am grateful! Please post and tag me and #LoveboatTaipei!

I also hope to see you on my book tour!

My latest events and tour cities will be posted on my website at www.abigailhingwen.com — please sign up for my newsletter for direct updates!

Finally, thank you, Karina, for organizing this amazing blog tour, and to all the bloggers involved. I can’t wait to read and see the posts!

Love,

Abigail

邢立美 (Xing Li Mei)

TOUR SCHEDULE

December 16
Afire Pages | Letter from Abigail Hing Wen

December 17
Artsy Draft | Lockscreen/Wallpaper
Sometimes Leelynn Reads
Lori’s Bookshelf Reads
Magical Reads | Playlist

December 18
Infinite Golden Floors | “Loveboat,Taipei, in Fiction and Reality”
Lyrical Reads | Moodboards
Kaitlyn Gosiaco
Kitty Marie’s Reading Corner | Moodboard
Fanna Wants the World to Read | Why Fans of Crazy, Rich Asians and La La Land Will Love Loveboat, Taipei

December 19
Caitlin Althea
Utopia State of Mind | Hand Lettering
Shut Up, Shealea
And Once Upon
Bookathon | Loveboat, Taipei Book Tag

December 20
Read By Tiffany
Drizzle & Hurricane Books | Moodboards
Pages and Coffee Cups
Happily, Hedy

Not Just Fiction
Ambivertwords
Flipping Through the Pages | Favorite Mixed-Race Characters

GIVEAWAY!

Enter below to win a copy of Loveboat, Taipei! This giveaway is open internationally and sponsored by HarperCollins International. And ends on January 16, 2020.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is img_20191112_015619.jpg

Have you read Loveboat, Taipei? Did you enjoy it? What’s your favorite book with Asian-American rep? Share your thoughts below!

IMG_20190325_001104.jpg

9 thoughts on “BLOG TOUR: Loveboat, Taipei by Abigail Hing Wen | A Letter from Abigail Hing Wen + GIVEAWAY!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s